Michigan First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
Quick Answer: Michigan's main state help is the MSHDA MI 10K DPA Loan, up to $10,000, an interest-free loan with no monthly payments that's repaid when you sell, refinance or pay off the first mortgage.
Full answer and how we checked it
It's not a grant. It comes with the MSHDA MI Home Loan (640 minimum credit score, $566,355 statewide price limit since June 1, 2026), and MSHDA also offers a Mortgage Credit Certificate worth 20% of your yearly mortgage interest as a federal tax credit. The only true grant in this guide is local: Detroit's Down Payment Assistance Program, up to $25,000 for city residents under 80% of area median income. MSHDA's $25,000 First-Generation DPA pilot is closed, with funds exhausted. For how Michigan compares with other states, see our national first-time home buyer grants guide.
This guide is for: first-time buyers in Michigan, and anyone who saw an ad for a "Michigan first-time home buyer grant" and wants to know what the state and the big cities really offer in 2026.
Data note: Grantsights checked MSHDA's MI Home Loan page (opens in a new tab), MI 10K DPA Loan page (opens in a new tab), Mortgage Credit Certificate page (opens in a new tab), First-Generation DPA page (opens in a new tab) and its income and sales price limits PDF dated 6.1.2026 against the City of Detroit, City of Lansing, City of Grand Rapids and Washtenaw County homebuyer pages, IRS Form 8828 instructions (Rev. November 2024) and U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts on November 3, 2026. Median home values are the Census Bureau's 2020-2024 American Community Survey figures for owner-occupied homes, not current sale prices.
In this guide (10 sections)
- Michigan Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)
- MSHDA Income and Sales Price Limits by County (June 1, 2026)
- How Far $10,000 Goes in Michigan's Biggest Counties
- Local Help in Detroit, Grand Rapids, Lansing, Ann Arbor and Flint
- FHA, VA and USDA Loans in Michigan
- What MSHDA Doesn't Tell You on Its Program Pages
- Common Mistakes and Red Flags for Michigan Buyers
- How to Apply for MSHDA Help, Step by Step
- What to Do If Funds Run Out or You're Denied
- Sources
Michigan Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)
Michigan buyers can choose from 3 open MSHDA products and 3 open city programs in this guide, and only one of the six is a true grant. Here's how they line up as of November 3, 2026.
| Michigan program | Run by | Type | Amount | Repayment terms | First-time buyer rule | Credit minimum | Funding status (as stated by agency) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MI Home Loan | MSHDA | First mortgage (FHA, VA, USDA or conventional through a lender) | Up to the $566,355 price limit | Regular monthly payments | First-time (no home in 3 years) statewide; repeat buyers allowed in targeted areas | 640 | Open; listed as current on MSHDA's page |
| MI 10K DPA Loan | MSHDA | Deferred loan, 0% interest | Up to $10,000 | No monthly payments; due on payoff of first mortgage, sale, refinance, or when the home stops being owner-occupied | Same as MI Home Loan (must be paired with it) | 640 (through the MI Home Loan) | Open; listed as current |
| Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) | MSHDA | Federal tax credit | 20% of yearly mortgage interest, for the life of the original loan (up to 30 years) | None, but federal recapture tax may apply on sale within 9 years | First-time statewide; repeat buyers in targeted areas | Not published | Open; listed as current |
| First-Generation DPA | MSHDA | Deferred loan | Up to $25,000 | Deferred | First-generation buyers only | Not published | Closed: "all funds have been exhausted," no waitlist |
| Detroit Down Payment Assistance Program | City of Detroit | Grant (prorated repayment if you leave within 3 years) | Up to $25,000, capped at 50% of the price and your unmet need | None if the home stays your main residence for 3 years | No ownership interest in 3 years; Detroit resident for 12 months | Not published | Phase III; city bulletin dated August 12, 2026 confirms it's running |
| Lansing Down Payment Assistance | City of Lansing (HUD HOME funds) | Forgivable loan, 0% | Up to $23,000, based on need | Forgiven after 5 years (existing homes) or 20 years (new construction); due if you stop living there | First home (program goal) | Not published | Page shows FY2026 limits; funding level not stated |
| Grand Rapids Homebuyer Assistance Fund | City of Grand Rapids | Forgivable loan, 0% | Up to $7,500 | Forgiven after 5 years as your main residence | No home in 3 years | Not published | Lender list posted; funding level not stated |
Sources: MSHDA program pages and income and sales price limits (6.1.2026); City of Detroit DPA pages and August 12, 2026 professional bulletin; City of Lansing DPA page; City of Grand Rapids HAF page and program summary. All checked November 3, 2026.
The honest summary: the MI 10K is a good deal, but it's a lien on your home, not free money. If you sell in year 4, you pay the $10,000 back out of your sale proceeds. Detroit's grant and the Lansing and Grand Rapids forgivable loans are the ones that can disappear entirely if you stay put long enough.
Get grant deadline alerts by email
About once a week, we email a short list of open grant calls with real deadlines from different funders. It isn't limited to the programs in this guide.
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
MSHDA Income and Sales Price Limits by County (June 1, 2026)
MSHDA uses one statewide sales price limit of $566,355 and income limits that change by county, by household size (1 to 2 people, or 3 or more), and by whether the area is "targeted." According to the MSHDA MI Home Loan program page, the price limit took effect June 1, 2026, and the same limits table covers both the MI Home Loan and the MCC.
| County (most populous first) | Area | Targeted? | Income limit, 1-2 people | Income limit, 3+ people | Sales price limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wayne | Detroit, Dearborn, Ecorse, Hamtramck, Highland Park, Inkster, Lincoln Park, River Rouge, Taylor, City of Wayne | Targeted | $125,760 | $146,720 | $566,355 |
| Wayne | Rest of county | Non-targeted | $104,800 | $120,520 | $566,355 |
| Oakland | Pontiac, Royal Oak Twp., Southfield | Targeted | $125,760 | $146,720 | $566,355 |
| Oakland | Rest of county | Non-targeted | $104,800 | $120,520 | $566,355 |
| Macomb | Harrison Twp., Mt. Clemens | Targeted | $125,760 | $146,720 | $566,355 |
| Macomb | Rest of county | Non-targeted | $104,800 | $120,520 | $566,355 |
| Kent | Grand Rapids, Kent City, Kentwood, Spencer Twp., Wyoming | Targeted | $127,920 | $149,240 | $566,355 |
| Kent | Rest of county | Non-targeted | $106,600 | $122,590 | $566,355 |
| Genesee | Flint, Genesee Twp., Mount Morris Twp. | Targeted | $118,080 | $137,760 | $566,355 |
| Genesee | Rest of county | Non-targeted | $98,400 | $113,160 | $566,355 |
| Washtenaw | Entire county | Targeted | $170,760 | $199,220 | $566,355 |
| Ottawa | Allendale Twp., Chester Twp., Holland | Targeted | $136,440 | $159,180 | $566,355 |
| Ottawa | Rest of county | Non-targeted | $113,700 | $130,755 | $566,355 |
| Ingham | Entire county (includes Lansing) | Targeted | $123,120 | $143,640 | $566,355 |
| Kalamazoo | Entire county | Targeted | $129,720 | $151,340 | $566,355 |
| Most rural counties (for example Alcona, Berrien, Isabella) | Entire county | Targeted | $118,080 | $137,760 | $566,355 |
Source: MSHDA, "MSHDA Income and Sales Price Limits, MI Home Loan, MCC Program," dated 6.1.2026, linked from the MI Home Loan page (opens in a new tab). County order uses Census Bureau July 1, 2025 population estimates. In non-targeted areas you must be a first-time buyer; in targeted areas you may be a first-time or repeat buyer.
Two things stand out. First, these are household income limits, so a working adult child or a partner who isn't on the loan can still count, depending on lender rules. Second, the limits are generous. A household of three in Detroit can earn up to $146,720 and still qualify, which is far above what most people picture when they hear "assistance program."
How Far $10,000 Goes in Michigan's Biggest Counties
Grantsights analysis of U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts median home values (2020-2024 ACS) shows the $10,000 MI 10K covers 4.3% of Michigan's $231,600 median home value, which is more than the 3.5% minimum down payment on an FHA loan. In cheaper counties it covers the whole FHA down payment with money left for closing costs. In Washtenaw and Oakland, it doesn't.
| County | Median value of owner-occupied homes | MI 10K as a share of median | 3.5% FHA down payment on the median | $10,000 minus that down payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Michigan (statewide) | $231,600 | 4.3% | $8,106 | $1,894 left for closing costs |
| Wayne | $178,500 | 5.6% | $6,248 | $3,752 left |
| Oakland | $343,600 | 2.9% | $12,026 | $2,026 short |
| Macomb | $243,900 | 4.1% | $8,537 | $1,463 left |
| Kent | $289,900 | 3.4% | $10,147 | $147 short |
| Genesee | $182,400 | 5.5% | $6,384 | $3,616 left |
| Washtenaw | $374,100 | 2.7% | $13,094 | $3,094 short |
| Ingham | $198,800 | 5.0% | $6,958 | $3,042 left |
Calculation: $10,000 divided by the county median value; FHA minimum down payment of 3.5% from HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab). Medians are 2020-2024 ACS values from Census Bureau QuickFacts, which run below 2026 sale prices, so real shortfalls are likely larger.
The takeaway: in Wayne, Genesee and Ingham, the MI 10K alone can get a median-priced buyer to the closing table. In Ann Arbor or Oakland County, it's a contribution, not a solution, and you'll want to price out the MCC and your own savings too.
Local Help in Detroit, Grand Rapids, Lansing, Ann Arbor and Flint
The 5 biggest local markets handle down payment help very differently. Detroit gives a grant, Lansing and Grand Rapids give forgivable loans, and Washtenaw County and Flint don't publish a dollar amount at all.
Detroit: up to $25,000 grant
According to the City of Detroit's Down Payment Assistance Program page, qualifying buyers can get up to $25,000 for down payment, prepaids including interest rate buy-down, closing costs and principal reduction. It's funded with $9 million in Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) and CDBG Disaster Recovery money. Key rules from the city's Apply Now page (opens in a new tab):
- You must have lived in Detroit for the last 12 months, or prove you lost a Detroit home to property tax foreclosure between 2010 and 2016.
- No ownership interest in property in the last 3 years.
- A 1 to 2 unit home in Detroit, kept as your main residence for 3 years, or the grant is repaid on a prorated basis.
- At least $1,000 of your own money, and a housing expense ratio no higher than 35%.
- A HUD-approved homebuyer education course and a visual lead inspection.
- The award can't exceed 50% of the price, and it's limited to your "unmet need" as the city calculates it. You won't automatically get $25,000.
- Households hit by the August 2023 flooding get priority.
The program's main page (opens in a new tab) lists 80% of area median income as $58,700 for one person, $67,100 for two, $75,500 for three and $83,850 for four. The city's Apply Now page still shows an older, lower table ($56,600 for one person), so if you're close to the line, ask the city's intake partner, National Faith Homebuyers, which figure it's using. A City of Detroit bulletin effective August 12, 2026 confirms Detroit DPA can be layered with MSHDA's down payment assistance, in third lien position.
Grand Rapids: up to $7,500 forgivable loan
The City of Grand Rapids Homebuyer Assistance Fund (opens in a new tab) offers up to $7,500 as a zero-interest second mortgage with no monthly payments, forgiven after 5 years as your main residence, per the city's program summary. You need income at or below 80% of area median income (effective June 1, 2026: $59,750 for one person, $68,250 for two, $76,800 for three, $85,300 for four), $10,000 or less in assets after closing, a home inside city limits that passes inspections, and pre-approval from one of the 21 participating lenders the city lists. You apply through the lender, not the city.
Lansing: up to $23,000 forgivable loan
The City of Lansing's Down Payment Assistance page (opens in a new tab) says assistance is based on need and won't exceed $23,000. It's a zero-interest loan behind your first mortgage, forgiven after 5 years for an existing home or 20 years for new construction, and due in full if the home stops being your main residence. Price caps for an existing home are $219,000 in Ingham County and $226,000 in Eaton County, and $294,000 for new construction in either. You must put in at least $1,000, invest any liquid assets above $20,000, and use a fixed-rate first mortgage with taxes and insurance escrowed. FY2026 income limits are $57,500 for one person, $65,700 for two, $73,900 for three and $82,100 for four. The big catch: Lansing's DPA can't be combined with MSHDA down payment assistance, although it can be used with an MSHDA mortgage.
Ann Arbor and Washtenaw County
Washtenaw County's Homebuyer Assistance page (opens in a new tab) says county residents can get homebuyer education and "may be eligible" for down payment help when buying in the county, but it doesn't publish an amount, income limit or funding status. The Ann Arbor Housing Commission runs a Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher homeownership option for current voucher holders. Since the county page lists no figures, call the county's Office of Community and Economic Development before counting on any amount. Washtenaw is also MSHDA's highest-limit county, at $170,760 for 1 to 2 people.
Flint
Grantsights didn't find a current City of Flint down payment program for individual buyers on the city's own website as of November 3, 2026. What Flint buyers do get is MSHDA's targeted-area status: the City of Flint, Genesee Township and Mount Morris Township allow repeat buyers and carry a higher income limit ($118,080 for 1 to 2 people) than the rest of Genesee County ($98,400).
FHA, VA and USDA Loans in Michigan
Three federal loan types do most of the heavy lifting under the MI Home Loan, and HUD puts the FHA minimum down payment at 3.5% of the price. The MI Home Loan isn't a separate loan type; it's MSHDA's version of these, delivered by a participating lender.
- FHA: down payments as low as 3.5%, with easier credit qualifying, according to HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab). For a MI Home Loan, MSHDA's own 640 minimum still applies.
- VA: no down payment if the price isn't higher than the appraised value, though a funding fee may apply, per the VA purchase loan page (opens in a new tab).
- USDA guaranteed loans: for rural areas, with household income up to 115% of median income, according to the USDA Rural Development guaranteed loan page (opens in a new tab). Check the address on USDA's eligibility map before you shop.
For a fuller comparison of these loan types, see the national first-time home buyer guide, and for USDA's direct loan and repair programs, see our USDA housing grants guide.
What MSHDA Doesn't Tell You on Its Program Pages
Grantsights compared MSHDA's program pages with its own limits table and found 4 gaps a buyer should know about before signing anything.
- The MCC page shows an old price limit. MSHDA's MCC page still says the maximum sales price is $544,233 "after May 1, 2025." The June 1, 2026 limits PDF, which covers the MCC by name, shows $566,355. The newer table is the one to rely on, but ask your MCC lender to confirm in writing if your price falls between those two numbers.
- "Interest-free" doesn't mean "forgiven." The MI 10K page lists "no monthly payments," which is true, but the loan is due on a sale or refinance. If you refinance when rates drop, MSHDA's page lists refinancing as a repayment event, so plan for the $10,000 to come due.
- Recapture tax isn't mentioned. The MCC page doesn't mention that the IRS can take back part of the benefit. IRS Form 8828 instructions say that if you sell within the first 9 years after getting an MCC or a loan funded by tax-exempt bonds, you may owe recapture tax, and Form 8828 caps it at 50% of the gain on the sale. The form ties the amount to your income in the year of sale and to whether you sold at a gain, so many sellers owe nothing, but you should know it exists.
- The First-Generation program is gone. Older news stories and lender pages still advertise MSHDA's $25,000 First-Generation DPA. MSHDA's own page says the program is closed, funds are exhausted, and the waitlist isn't available. MSHDA's February 18, 2026 press release confirms that pilot, and the Rate Relief mortgage pilot, have ended.
One more thing worth knowing: MSHDA's February 18, 2026 release says it made over $1 billion in mortgage and DPA loans to 6,193 buyers in 2025, a record. Popular programs with busy lenders mean you should start early and get a pre-approval from an MSHDA-experienced loan officer, not a general one.
Common Mistakes and Red Flags for Michigan Buyers
Most problems come down to 5 avoidable errors, and almost all of them happen before the purchase agreement is signed.
- Treating the MI 10K as a grant. A common mistake is assuming the $10,000 goes away. It doesn't. If you sell in 6 years for a gain, your title company will pay MSHDA back from the proceeds.
- Stacking programs that don't stack. Lansing's DPA can't be combined with MSHDA DPA, and the closed First-Generation program couldn't be combined with the MI 10K either. Detroit's can. Ask before you budget for two.
- Underestimating closing costs in high-cost counties. In Washtenaw, Oakland and Kent, the $10,000 may not even cover a 3.5% FHA down payment on a median home. Buyers often underestimate how much cash they'll need for inspections, appraisal and prepaid taxes.
- Applying for the MCC too late. MSHDA says the MCC must be applied for and approved before you buy. Once you've closed, it's too late.
- Paying for "grant help." A red flag is any website, caller or seminar charging a fee to get you a Michigan home buyer grant. According to the FTC's government grant scams page (opens in a new tab), no government agency will contact you demanding payment for a grant, and paying by gift card, wire or crypto is a sure sign of a scam. MSHDA programs come through participating lenders, and Detroit's through the city's online application.
If you also need help with repairs after you buy, our guide to home repair grants for low-income homeowners covers the federal and local options.
How to Apply for MSHDA Help, Step by Step
The full MSHDA process has 6 steps, and the order matters, because the MCC and the local programs all need to be in place before closing.
- Check your numbers. Find your county in the MSHDA limits table above and compare it to your household's total gross income. Confirm your credit score is at least 640.
- Take the homebuyer education course. MSHDA requires a homebuyer education certificate for the MI Home Loan and MI 10K. Find a class through the MSHDA Housing Education Locator (opens in a new tab). MSHDA says many HUD-approved counseling services are free or low-cost, so ask about fees when you book.
- Get pre-approved by an MSHDA lender. Use MSHDA's MI Home Loan lender list (opens in a new tab). Ask the loan officer for the MI 10K and, if you want it, the MCC at the same time. For the MCC, check the MCC lender list (opens in a new tab), since not every lender issues it.
- Add local help if you qualify. Detroit buyers apply online once they have a pre-approval letter and an accepted purchase agreement; the city says a decision takes 2 to 3 weeks after a complete file. Grand Rapids buyers apply through a participating lender. Lansing files go through Capital Area Housing Partnership.
- Make an offer on a home under the limits. Stay under $566,355 for MSHDA, and under the local caps ($219,000 for an existing home in Lansing's Ingham County portion, for example).
- Close. The DPA money goes to the closing table, not to you. Keep your MSHDA and city loan documents; you'll need them when you sell or refinance.
For example, a couple in Detroit earning $62,000 a year and buying a $160,000 home with an FHA-backed MI Home Loan would need a $5,600 down payment (3.5%). They're under Detroit's $67,100 limit for two and MSHDA's $125,760 targeted-area limit. The MI 10K could cover that down payment and up to $4,400 of closing costs as a deferred loan. Detroit's DPA could then cover remaining unmet need up to $25,000, specifically limited to 50% of the $160,000 price ($80,000) and the city's own calculation, after the couple puts in their required $1,000. If they stay 3 years, the Detroit money never has to be repaid; the MSHDA $10,000 is still due when they sell or refinance.
Lansing is one city in Michigan where the math works the other way. A family of three earning $70,000 is under both Lansing's $73,900 limit and MSHDA's $143,640 Ingham County limit, but they have to choose between the city's DPA (up to $23,000, forgiven after 5 years) and the MI 10K ($10,000, repaid on sale). For most buyers who plan to stay 5 years, the Lansing loan is the better route.
What to Do If Funds Run Out or You're Denied
Michigan's 3 MSHDA products have no published funding cutoff right now, but local programs work first-come, first-served and can pause between rounds, as Detroit's has done across its 3 phases.
- If a city program is out of money: ask to be told when the next round opens, and don't let a purchase agreement deadline push you into closing without help you were counting on. MSHDA's MI 10K is a fallback in most cities, though not alongside Lansing's DPA.
- If you're over the income limit: check whether your address is in a targeted area, where limits run about 20% higher (for example, $125,760 in Detroit versus $104,800 in the rest of Wayne County).
- If your credit is under 640: a HUD-approved counselor can help build a plan. MSHDA's housing education network says it works with households whether they've been approved, denied or are unsure. Our guide on how to apply for grants as an individual also explains how to tell real help from offers you should skip.
- If buying isn't possible yet: our rental assistance programs guide and the HUD income limits guide explain what's available while you save.
The HUD HOME program guide explains the federal money behind Lansing's and many other local down payment programs, which can help you find a county or nonprofit program that isn't listed here.
If you'd like a quick check of which official programs fit your situation, the free eligibility checker points you to the right official routes. It doesn't hand out grants or apply on your behalf.
For other states, see the California, Texas, Florida, New York and Washington guides.
Sources
- MSHDA, MI Home Loan (opens in a new tab) (price limit effective June 1, 2026; checked November 3, 2026)
- MSHDA, MI 10K DPA Loan (opens in a new tab) (checked November 3, 2026)
- MSHDA, Mortgage Credit Certificate Program (opens in a new tab) (checked November 3, 2026)
- MSHDA, MSHDA Income and Sales Price Limits, MI Home Loan and MCC (opens in a new tab) (dated 6.1.2026)
- MSHDA, First-Generation DPA (opens in a new tab) (closure notice, checked November 3, 2026)
- MSHDA, Achieving Housing Dreams: Blueprint to Homeownership (opens in a new tab) (education requirement and counseling FAQ)
- MSHDA, Housing Education Locator (opens in a new tab)
- MSHDA, MI Home Loan lender list (opens in a new tab) and MCC lender list (opens in a new tab)
- MSHDA, Gov. Whitmer announces MSHDA helps record 6,000 Michiganders become homeowners in 2025 (opens in a new tab) (February 18, 2026)
- City of Detroit, Detroit Down Payment Assistance Program (opens in a new tab), Apply Now (opens in a new tab), How Does It Work? (opens in a new tab) and DPA Professional Bulletin, August 12, 2026 (opens in a new tab)
- City of Grand Rapids, Homebuyer Assistance Fund (opens in a new tab), HAF program summary (PDF) (opens in a new tab) and Community Development Program Income Limits (opens in a new tab) (effective June 1, 2026)
- City of Lansing, Down Payment Assistance (opens in a new tab) and Program Income Limits (opens in a new tab) (FY2026)
- Washtenaw County, Homebuyer Assistance (opens in a new tab)
- IRS, Instructions for Form 8828, Recapture of Federal Mortgage Subsidy (opens in a new tab) (Rev. November 2024) and Form 8828 (opens in a new tab)
- HUD, Loans (FHA) (opens in a new tab)
- VA, VA purchase loan (opens in a new tab)
- USDA Rural Development, Single Family Housing Guaranteed Loan Program (opens in a new tab)
- U.S. Census Bureau, QuickFacts: Michigan and selected counties (opens in a new tab) and Oakland, Macomb, Kalamazoo and Ottawa counties (opens in a new tab) (median value of owner-occupied homes, 2020-2024; population estimates July 1, 2025)
- FTC, Government Grant Scams (opens in a new tab)
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a first-time home buyer grant in Michigan?
Not from the state. MSHDA's main help, the MI 10K DPA, is an interest-free loan of up to $10,000 with no monthly payments that you repay when you sell, refinance, pay off the first mortgage or stop living in the home. The closest thing to a true grant is local: Detroit's Down Payment Assistance Program awards up to $25,000 to Detroit residents under 80% of area median income, repaid on a prorated basis only if you don't live in the home for 3 years.
How much is the MSHDA down payment assistance in 2026?
Up to $10,000 through the MI 10K DPA Loan, available statewide and usable for down payment, closing costs and prepaid expenses. It must be paired with an MSHDA MI Home Loan first mortgage. MSHDA's $25,000 First-Generation DPA pilot is closed; MSHDA says all funds have been exhausted and there's no waitlist.
What are the MSHDA income limits for 2026?
They vary by county and household size. In MSHDA's limits effective June 1, 2026, most rural counties are $118,080 for 1 to 2 people and $137,760 for 3 or more. Higher-cost areas run higher: Washtenaw County is $170,760 and $199,220, and the targeted cities in Wayne County, including Detroit, are $125,760 and $146,720. The statewide sales price limit is $566,355.
What credit score do I need for a MSHDA loan?
MSHDA's MI Home Loan page lists a minimum credit score of 640. The MI 10K DPA must be combined with a MI Home Loan, so the same 640 floor applies. Your lender or the FHA, VA, USDA or conventional loan rules behind the MI Home Loan can add other requirements.
Do I have to be a first-time buyer to use MSHDA programs?
Only in non-targeted areas. MSHDA defines a first-time buyer as someone who hasn't owned a home in the previous 3 years. In targeted areas, such as the cities of Detroit, Flint, Grand Rapids and Pontiac, all of Washtenaw and Ingham counties and many rural counties, repeat buyers can use the MI Home Loan and the MCC too.
Can I combine the MI 10K with Detroit or Lansing down payment help?
Detroit, yes. The City of Detroit's August 12, 2026 bulletin confirms its DPA can sit in third lien position behind an MSHDA first mortgage and MSHDA DPA. Lansing, no. The City of Lansing says its DPA, up to $23,000, can't be combined with MSHDA down payment assistance, though it can be used with an MSHDA mortgage.
What is the Michigan Mortgage Credit Certificate worth?
MSHDA's MCC lets you claim 20% of the mortgage interest you pay each year as a federal tax credit for the life of the original loan, up to 30 years. It has to be approved before you buy, through an approved MCC lender. If you sell within 9 years, IRS Form 8828 may require you to pay back part of the benefit.
Are Michigan home buyer grant ads real?
Treat them with care. The FTC says no government agency will contact you to demand that you pay to get a grant. MSHDA programs are applied for through a participating lender, and Detroit's DPA through the city's online application. Never pay an upfront fee to someone promising a Michigan housing grant.
Last updated November 3, 2026. Published by Grantsights from public sources. See our editorial policy, how we build and check guides, corrections and how we make money.
Related Guides
Alabama First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
AHFA lends up to $10,000 (4% of price) as a 10-year second mortgage repaid monthly. 2026 income and price limits, a small closing grant and city help.
Alaska First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
AHFC's 2026 first-time loans start at 6.5%, with 3% down and rate cuts up to 1% for lower incomes and veterans. Limits by borough and partner help.
Arizona First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
Arizona's HOME Plus gives up to 4% as a loan forgiven after 5 years, not a grant. 2026 income caps, Maricopa and Pima options, Phoenix and Tucson help.
Arkansas First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
ADFA's down payment help is a repayable 10-year loan of up to $15,000, not a grant. 2026 county income limits, plus Little Rock and Jonesboro programs.
California First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
CalHFA's MyHome covers up to 3.5% of the price and Dream For All up to $150,000. 2026 county income limits, LA and San Diego help, and what you repay.
Colorado First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
CHFA's 2026 help: a 3% grant you don't repay, a 4% deferred loan, $25,000 for first-generation buyers, plus metroDPA, Boulder H2O and county limits.