Arkansas First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
Quick Answer: Arkansas's state help comes from the Arkansas Development Finance Authority (ADFA): the StartSmart first mortgage for first-time buyers, the Move-Up first mortgage for anyone earning up to $142,000, and Down Payment Assistance of $1,000 to $15,000.
Full answer and how we checked it
That DPA is not a grant and not deferred. ADFA's guidelines revised June 10, 2026 call it a "repayable second mortgage" with a 10-year term at the same rate as your first mortgage, so it adds a monthly payment. The true grants in this guide are local: Jonesboro gives up to $5,000 and Little Rock up to $10,000 as a loan forgiven over 5 years. For how Arkansas compares with other states, see our national first-time home buyer grants guide.
This guide is for: first-time buyers in Arkansas, and anyone who searched for an "Arkansas first-time home buyer grant" and wants to know what the state and its larger cities actually offer in 2026.
Data note: Grantsights checked ADFA's StartSmart page (opens in a new tab), Down Payment Assistance page (opens in a new tab), Move-Up page (opens in a new tab), its lender program guidelines (revised 06.10.2026) and its 2026 StartSmart income limits (effective 06/01/2026) against the City of Little Rock, City of Jonesboro and City of Fort Smith housing pages, IRS Form 8828 instructions and U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts on November 3, 2026. The home values used below come from the 2020-2024 American Community Survey, so they lag what Arkansas homes sell for in 2026.
In this guide (10 sections)
- Arkansas Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)
- ADFA StartSmart Income Limits by County (Effective June 1, 2026)
- What the ADFA DPA Actually Costs Each Month
- Local Help in Little Rock, Jonesboro, Fort Smith and Northwest Arkansas
- FHA, VA and USDA Loans in Arkansas
- What ADFA Doesn't Tell You on Its Program Pages
- Common Mistakes and Red Flags for Arkansas Buyers
- How to Apply for ADFA Help, Step by Step
- What to Do If Funds Run Out or You're Denied
- Sources
Arkansas Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)
Arkansas buyers have 3 ADFA products and 4 local programs to weigh, and only one of the seven, Jonesboro's, is described by its sponsor as a grant. Here's the side-by-side as of November 3, 2026.
| Arkansas program | Run by | Type | Amount | Repayment terms | First-time buyer rule | Credit minimum | Funding status (as stated by agency) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| StartSmart | ADFA | First mortgage (FHA, VA, USDA RD or Freddie Mac HFA Advantage), bond-funded | Up to the $500,000 price limit | 30-year fixed; 6.50% government rate posted October 27, 2026 | No home in 3 years, except veterans and 30 targeted counties | 640 | Rates posted; ADFA doesn't post a funding status |
| Move-Up | ADFA | First mortgage (FHA, VA, USDA RD or conventional) | Up to the conforming loan limit | 30-year fixed; 6.875% government rate posted October 27, 2026 | None; income cap $142,000 | 640 | Rates posted; no funding status posted |
| Down Payment Assistance (DPA) | ADFA | Repayable loan (second mortgage) | $1,000 to $15,000 | 10-year amortizing loan at the first mortgage's rate; no prepayment penalty | Follows the first mortgage | 640 (through the first mortgage) | No funding status posted |
| Little Rock Down Payment Assistance | City of Little Rock (HUD HOME funds) | Forgivable loan | Up to 6% of price, max $10,000 | Forgiven in equal monthly installments over 60 months | No residential property in 3 years | Not published | 2026 income limits posted (effective June 1, 2026); funding level not stated |
| Little Rock CDBG-DR Homebuyer Assistance | City of Little Rock (disaster recovery funds) | Forgivable loan | Up to $15,000 or 8% of price | Forgiven over 60 months | No residential property in 3 years | Not published | Application package revised July 2, 2026; "subject to the availability" of funds |
| Jonesboro First-Time Homebuyer Assistance | City of Jonesboro (CDBG) | Grant with a 3-year forgivable lien | Up to $5,000 | None if the lien period is met | First-time buyers | Not published | 2026 application posted; funding status not stated |
| Crawford-Sebastian homeownership programs (Fort Smith) | Crawford-Sebastian Community Development Council | Grants (amount not posted); HOME subsidy for new homes | Up to $25,000 HOME subsidy on new construction | Not posted | First-time and repeat buyers | Not published | Not posted; call 479-785-2303 |
Sources: ADFA program pages, homeloans rate table (last updated 10/27/2026) and lender program guidelines (revised 06.10.2026); City of Little Rock DPA eligibility sheet, 2026 DPA flyer and CDBG-DR application package (revised 7.2.2026); City of Jonesboro Homeowner Assistance page; City of Fort Smith Housing Assistance and Grants page. All checked November 3, 2026.
Here's the honest read on the state program: ADFA's DPA works more like a small personal loan secured by your house than like a gift. That isn't a reason to skip it, but you should price the monthly payment before you say yes.
Get grant deadline alerts by email
About once a week, we email a short list of open grant calls with real deadlines from different funders. It isn't limited to the programs in this guide.
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
ADFA StartSmart Income Limits by County (Effective June 1, 2026)
ADFA sets one $500,000 purchase price limit statewide for StartSmart, with income limits that change by county and household size. According to ADFA's 2026 StartSmart income limits table, the limits took effect June 1, 2026, and the same limits apply to the DPA when it's paired with StartSmart. A Move-Up buyer is held to a single $142,000 qualifying income cap instead.
| County (most populous first) | Largest city | Targeted? | Income limit, 1-2 people | Income limit, 3+ people | StartSmart price limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pulaski | Little Rock, North Little Rock | No | $102,595 | $117,984 | $500,000 |
| Benton | Rogers, Bentonville | No | $106,900 | $122,935 | $500,000 |
| Washington | Fayetteville, Springdale | No | $106,900 | $122,935 | $500,000 |
| Faulkner | Conway | No | $102,595 | $117,984 | $500,000 |
| Saline | Benton, Bryant | No | $102,595 | $117,984 | $500,000 |
| Sebastian | Fort Smith | No | $92,160 | $107,520 | $500,000 |
| Craighead | Jonesboro | No | $90,720 | $105,840 | $500,000 |
| Garland | Hot Springs | No | $96,480 | $112,560 | $500,000 |
| White | Searcy | Yes | $99,960 | $116,620 | $500,000 |
| Lonoke | Cabot | No | $102,595 | $117,984 | $500,000 |
| Crittenden | West Memphis | Yes | $111,240 | $129,780 | $500,000 |
| Madison | Huntsville | Yes | $128,280 | $149,660 | $500,000 |
| Lowest-limit counties (for example Baxter, Greene, Independence) | No | $85,320 | $99,540 | $500,000 |
Source: ADFA, "StartSmart Income Limits, 2026 Income Limits," effective 06/01/2026, linked from the StartSmart page (opens in a new tab). Arkansas counties appear largest first, using July 1, 2025 Census population estimates. In targeted counties, the 3-year first-time buyer rule doesn't apply.
Two details matter here. First, these are household limits, so the income of an adult who'll live in the home can count even if that person isn't on the loan. Second, they're high relative to Arkansas incomes. Pulaski County's median household income is $62,873 in Census QuickFacts, while a family of three there can earn up to $117,984 and still use StartSmart.
What the ADFA DPA Actually Costs Each Month
Grantsights analysis of ADFA's posted rates shows a $15,000 DPA at 6.50% over 10 years costs about $170 a month, or roughly $20,400 in total payments. We used the standard amortization formula with ADFA's 6.50% StartSmart government rate posted October 27, 2026, because ADFA's guidelines say the DPA "matches" the first mortgage rate.
| DPA amount | Rate (matches first mortgage) | Term | Estimated monthly payment | Total paid over 10 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $5,000 | 6.50% | 10 years | $56.77 | $6,813 |
| $10,000 | 6.50% | 10 years | $113.55 | $13,626 |
| $15,000 | 6.50% | 10 years | $170.32 | $20,439 |
Calculation: fixed-payment amortization, 120 months, at the 6.50% StartSmart government rate from ADFA's homeloans page (last updated 10/27/2026). Move-Up rates were higher that day (6.875% government), which would raise these payments. Your lender's Closing Disclosure is the figure that counts.
ADFA's guidelines also say your total debt-to-income ratio, including the DPA payment, can't go past 45%. A buyer who's near that ceiling can find that taking the full $15,000 pushes the file over it.
How far $15,000 goes in Arkansas's biggest counties
Using Census QuickFacts median home values, the full $15,000 covers 8.0% of Arkansas's $188,000 statewide median, more than double the 3.5% FHA minimum down payment.
| Area | Median value of owner-occupied homes | $15,000 as a share of median | 3.5% FHA down payment on the median | Left for closing costs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arkansas (statewide) | $188,000 | 8.0% | $6,580 | $8,420 |
| Pulaski County | $214,700 | 7.0% | $7,515 | $7,485 |
| Benton County | $323,500 | 4.6% | $11,323 | $3,677 |
| Washington County | $298,400 | 5.0% | $10,444 | $4,556 |
| Faulkner County | $232,700 | 6.4% | $8,145 | $6,855 |
| Saline County | $221,200 | 6.8% | $7,742 | $7,258 |
| Sebastian County | $176,200 | 8.5% | $6,167 | $8,833 |
| Craighead County | $210,400 | 7.1% | $7,364 | $7,636 |
Calculation: $15,000 divided by the county median; FHA minimum down payment of 3.5% from HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab). Medians are 2020-2024 ACS values from Census Bureau QuickFacts, which trail 2026 prices.
So the money is rarely the problem in Arkansas; the monthly payment is. In Fort Smith or Jonesboro, a buyer may need only $6,000 to $8,000 of DPA, and borrowing less keeps the second payment smaller.
Local Help in Little Rock, Jonesboro, Fort Smith and Northwest Arkansas
The 4 largest local markets show the full range: Little Rock runs two forgivable loan programs, Jonesboro gives a grant, Fort Smith refers buyers to a nonprofit, and Northwest Arkansas cities don't post a city program at all.
Little Rock: up to $10,000 forgivable loan
The City of Little Rock's Community Development Division page (opens in a new tab) says its down payment help can't exceed 6% of the purchase price, or $10,000, whichever is lower. The city's DPA eligibility sheet sets the rest of the rules:
- The home must be inside Little Rock city limits, a single-family detached home with no more than 4 units, and it must pass a city code inspection before approval.
- You can't have owned residential property in the last 3 years.
- You must live there at least 5 years. The loan is forgiven in equal monthly installments over 60 months.
- A homebuyer counseling course acceptable to the city is required.
- You apply through your mortgage lender, which must have a physical location in Arkansas. There's no cash back at closing.
The city's 2026 flyer, effective June 1, 2026, lists 80% of area median income as $52,500 for one person, $60,000 for two, $67,500 for three and $74,950 for four.
Little Rock also runs a separate CDBG-DR Homebuyer Assistance Program funded by disaster recovery money. Its application package, revised July 2, 2026, offers up to $15,000 or 8% of the price as a loan forgiven over 60 months, for households at or below 150% of area median income buying in a CDBG-DR target area. The city reviews applications in the order received and says assistance depends on available funds.
Jonesboro: up to $5,000 grant
The City of Jonesboro's Homeowner Assistance page (opens in a new tab) says a first-time buyer can get a maximum of $5,000 in CDBG money toward closing costs or a down payment, paid directly to the title company. A forgivable lien sits on the home for 3 years. The home has to be inside city limits, outside a flood zone and up to HUD's minimum housing standards, and you must finish a HUD-approved homebuyer education course. The page says household income must meet federal guidelines but doesn't list the dollar limits, so ask the city's CDBG program manager at 870-336-7170.
Fort Smith: Crawford-Sebastian Community Development Council
The City of Fort Smith's Housing Assistance and Grants page (opens in a new tab) sends homebuyers to the Crawford-Sebastian Community Development Council's Homeownership Center, which it says offers "a variety of grants" for down payment and closing costs to low and moderate income first-time and repeat buyers. The city page doesn't post amounts. For new homes built inside Fort Smith, it says a HOME subsidy of up to $25,000 may be available. You'll need a C-SCDC homebuyer education class, one-on-one budget counseling and an approved lender.
Fayetteville, Springdale, Rogers and Bentonville
Grantsights didn't find a city-run down payment program with posted dollar amounts on the Northwest Arkansas city websites we checked on November 3, 2026. For buyers there, ADFA's programs are the main route. That's also where ADFA's help is thinnest: in Benton County, the $15,000 maximum leaves only about $3,677 for closing costs after a 3.5% FHA down payment on the median home.
If you're looking across a state line, see our guides for Texas (Texarkana), Oklahoma (the Fort Smith metro) and Tennessee (the Memphis metro, which includes West Memphis).
FHA, VA and USDA Loans in Arkansas
Both ADFA first mortgages sit on top of federal loan types, and HUD sets the FHA minimum down payment at 3.5%. StartSmart and Move-Up aren't separate loan products; they're ADFA-priced versions of these loans, closed by a participating lender.
- FHA: the 3.5% minimum and more flexible credit standards are described on HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab). Through ADFA, you still need a 640 median score.
- VA: eligible veterans and service members can often buy with nothing down when the price doesn't exceed the appraised value, though a funding fee may apply, per the VA purchase loan page (opens in a new tab). Veterans can also skip StartSmart's first-time buyer rule.
- USDA Rural Development: much of Arkansas outside the Little Rock and Northwest Arkansas cores can qualify as rural. USDA's guaranteed loan page (opens in a new tab) sets the income ceiling at 115% of area median income. Both ADFA first mortgages accept RD loans.
For a broader comparison, read the national first-time home buyer guide; for USDA's direct loans and rural repair help, see our USDA housing grants guide.
What ADFA Doesn't Tell You on Its Program Pages
Grantsights compared ADFA's consumer pages with its June 10, 2026 lender guidelines and found 5 points a buyer won't see on the public program pages.
- The DPA has a monthly payment. The consumer DPA page calls it a second mortgage with a 10-year term but doesn't say "repayable." The lender guidelines do: it's a "subordinate repayable mortgage" with a 10-year amortization, a rate that matches the first mortgage and a 4% late fee.
- StartSmart has a recapture tax, and ADFA will reimburse it. Because StartSmart is funded with tax-exempt mortgage revenue bonds, the guidelines say recapture tax can apply if you sell within 9 years, at a gain, with household income above the federal recapture limits. IRS Form 8828 instructions (opens in a new tab) explain the calculation. The guidelines add that "ADFA will reimburse upon request." Keep your closing papers so you can ask.
- Lenders can charge fees, within limits. The guidelines let lenders charge up to a 1% origination fee plus normal fees, and a $50 application fee on the DPA. Discount points and rate-lock extension fees can't be passed to the borrower on StartSmart.
- Homebuyer education depends on the loan type. ADFA has no education requirement of its own on Move-Up. On a Freddie Mac HFA Advantage conventional loan where every borrower is a first-time buyer, one borrower must take a course, and the guidelines say Credit Smart Homebuyer U counts while Credit Smart Essentials doesn't.
- No manual underwriting. Files must get an automated approval from FHA, VA, USDA or Freddie Mac systems. A "refer" result can't be rescued by a human underwriter, which matters if you have thin credit.
ADFA's public pages also don't post whether DPA funds are running low. If timing matters, ask a participating lender to check before you sign a purchase contract.
Common Mistakes and Red Flags for Arkansas Buyers
Most trouble traces back to 5 mistakes, and every one can be caught before closing.
- Calling the ADFA DPA a grant. This is the most common mistake in Arkansas. A $15,000 DPA is about $170 a month for 10 years at October's rate, and it shows up in your debt-to-income ratio.
- Borrowing the maximum when you don't need it. The DPA range starts at $1,000. Many buyers underestimate how much a smaller second loan saves; in Sebastian County, a 3.5% FHA down payment on the median home is $6,167.
- Missing Little Rock's inspection step. The city must inspect the home and any repairs must be finished before it approves assistance. A seller who won't fix code items can cost you the $10,000.
- Buying just outside the line. Little Rock and Jonesboro help only applies inside city limits, and Jonesboro also excludes flood zones. Check the address before you write an offer.
- Paying for "grant help." A red flag is any website or caller charging a fee to unlock an Arkansas homebuyer grant. The FTC's government grant scams page (opens in a new tab) says government agencies don't demand payment for grants, and requests to pay by gift card or wire are a scam signal. ADFA help comes through participating lenders only.
If repairs are on your mind after you buy, our guide to home repair grants for low-income homeowners covers federal and local options.
How to Apply for ADFA Help, Step by Step
Getting ADFA help takes 6 steps, and the local programs need to be lined up before closing day, not after.
- Pick your first mortgage. If you haven't owned a home in 3 years, or you're a veteran, or you're buying in a targeted county, StartSmart usually has the lower rate (6.50% versus 6.875% for government loans on October 27, 2026). Otherwise, use Move-Up, with its $142,000 income cap.
- Check your numbers. Compare your household income to your county in the table above, confirm a 640 median credit score, and keep total debts, including a DPA payment, under 45% of income.
- Find a participating lender. Use ADFA's lender search (opens in a new tab). Ask for the StartSmart or Move-Up loan and the DPA amount you actually need.
- Take the right course. Little Rock requires counseling acceptable to the city, Jonesboro requires a HUD-approved course, and Fort Smith's C-SCDC requires its own class. Find HUD-approved agencies through HUD's housing counseling directory (opens in a new tab).
- Add local help. In Little Rock and Jonesboro, your lender or you submit the city application after you're pre-approved and under contract. Little Rock reimburses the lender after the second mortgage is recorded.
- Close and keep the papers. You'll need the DPA note and any city lien documents when you sell or refinance, and your StartSmart papers if you ever need ADFA's recapture reimbursement.
For example, a couple in Little Rock earning $58,000 a year and buying a $175,000 home with an FHA StartSmart loan would need a $6,125 down payment (3.5%). They're under Little Rock's $60,000 limit for two and ADFA's $102,595 Pulaski County limit. The city's cap of 6% of the price works out to specifically $10,500 here, so the $10,000 maximum applies. That could cover the full down payment and $3,875 of closing costs as a loan forgiven over 5 years. If they still needed $2,000 more, an ADFA DPA of that size would cost about $23 a month at 6.50%, instead of $170 for the full $15,000.
What to Do If Funds Run Out or You're Denied
None of the 3 ADFA products has a posted funding cutoff today, but Little Rock's disaster recovery program and the other city programs depend on federal grants that run in yearly rounds.
- If a city program has no money left: ask when the next allocation arrives, and don't let a contract deadline force you to close without assistance you budgeted for. ADFA's DPA works anywhere in the state as a backup.
- If you're over the StartSmart income limit: Move-Up allows qualifying income up to $142,000, and the DPA still pairs with it.
- If your score is under 640 or the system returns "refer": a HUD-approved counselor can map out a credit plan. Our guide on how to apply for grants as an individual also explains how to spot offers you should skip.
- If you need another year to save: Arkansas renters can look through our rental assistance programs guide, and the HUD income limits guide shows where your household lands on the federal scale.
The HUD HOME program guide covers the federal money behind Little Rock's DPA and the Fort Smith new construction subsidy, which can help you find a county or nonprofit program not listed here.
If you'd like a quick read on which official programs fit your situation, the free eligibility checker points you to the right official routes. It won't award money itself, and ADFA and the cities still make every funding decision.
Sources
- ADFA, StartSmart First-Time Home Buyer Program (opens in a new tab) (checked November 3, 2026)
- ADFA, Down Payment Assistance Loan Program (opens in a new tab) (checked November 3, 2026)
- ADFA, Move-Up Loan Program (opens in a new tab) (checked November 3, 2026)
- ADFA, Homeownership programs and rate table (opens in a new tab) (rates last updated October 27, 2026)
- ADFA, 2026 StartSmart Income Limits (opens in a new tab) (effective June 1, 2026)
- ADFA, Single-Family Homeownership Program Guidelines (opens in a new tab) (revised June 10, 2026)
- ADFA, Find a Lender (opens in a new tab)
- City of Little Rock, Community Development Division (opens in a new tab), DPA eligibility (opens in a new tab), 2026 DPA flyer and income limits (opens in a new tab) (effective June 1, 2026) and CDBG-DR Homebuyer Assistance Program application package (opens in a new tab) (revised July 2, 2026)
- City of Jonesboro, Homeowner Assistance (opens in a new tab) (checked November 3, 2026)
- City of Fort Smith, Housing Assistance and Grants (opens in a new tab) (checked November 3, 2026)
- IRS, Instructions for Form 8828, Recapture of Federal Mortgage Subsidy (opens in a new tab)
- HUD, Loans (FHA) (opens in a new tab) and HUD-approved housing counseling agencies (opens in a new tab)
- VA, VA purchase loan (opens in a new tab)
- USDA Rural Development guaranteed loan rules (opens in a new tab), as they apply to buyers in Arkansas
- U.S. Census Bureau, QuickFacts for Arkansas and Pulaski, Benton, Washington, Sebastian and Faulkner counties (opens in a new tab) and Saline, Craighead, Garland, White and Lonoke counties (opens in a new tab) (median value of owner-occupied homes, 2020-2024; population estimates July 1, 2025)
- FTC, Government Grant Scams (opens in a new tab)
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a first-time home buyer grant in Arkansas?
Not from the state. ADFA's Down Payment Assistance is a repayable second mortgage of $1,000 to $15,000 with a 10-year term and monthly payments, at the same interest rate as your ADFA first mortgage. The closest things to grants are local: Jonesboro's first-time homebuyer program gives up to $5,000 with a 3-year forgivable lien, and Little Rock's program gives up to $10,000 as a loan forgiven over 60 months.
How much is ADFA down payment assistance in 2026?
ADFA's program guidelines, revised June 10, 2026, say the DPA can provide from $1,000 up to $15,000 for down payment, closing costs, principal reduction and items paid outside closing. It must be paired with an ADFA StartSmart or Move-Up first mortgage, and you repay it over 10 years.
What are the ADFA StartSmart income limits for 2026?
Arkansas sets them county by county, split into households of 1 to 2 people and 3 or more. ADFA's 2026 table, effective June 1, 2026, sets Pulaski, Faulkner, Saline and Lonoke counties at $102,595 for 1 to 2 people and $117,984 for 3 or more. Benton and Washington counties are $106,900 and $122,935. The lowest county limit is $85,320 and $99,540. The purchase price limit is $500,000 statewide.
What credit score do I need for an ADFA loan?
ADFA's guidelines set a minimum median credit score of 640 for StartSmart and Move-Up on every loan type: FHA, VA, USDA Rural Development and conventional. Only traditional credit counts, and your total debt-to-income ratio, including the DPA payment, can't go above 45%.
Do I have to be a first-time buyer to use ADFA programs?
Only for StartSmart, and even there it has exceptions. StartSmart requires no ownership of a principal residence in the past 3 years unless you're a veteran or a veteran's spouse, or you buy in one of 30 federally targeted counties such as Jefferson, Crittenden, Crawford and White. The Move-Up loan has no first-time buyer rule at all; it caps qualifying income at $142,000.
Can I combine ADFA DPA with Little Rock's down payment help?
ADFA's guidelines say additional assistance from other programs, agencies and gifts is allowed with its loans. Little Rock's DPA rules bar combining it with other city mortgage subsidy, but they don't mention ADFA. Ask the city's Community Development Division and your ADFA lender to confirm before you count on both.
Does Arkansas have a Mortgage Credit Certificate?
ADFA's current homeownership pages, checked November 3, 2026, list three products: StartSmart, Move-Up and Down Payment Assistance. None of them mentions a Mortgage Credit Certificate, so don't plan your budget around one unless an ADFA lender confirms a current MCC round in writing.
Are Arkansas home buyer grant ads real?
Be careful with them. The FTC says no government agency will call you and ask you to pay to get a grant. ADFA help comes only through a participating lender, and Little Rock's and Jonesboro's programs go through the city or your lender. Never pay an upfront fee to a website or caller promising an Arkansas housing grant.
Last updated November 3, 2026. Published by Grantsights from public sources. See our editorial policy, how we build and check guides, corrections and how we make money.
Related Guides
Alabama First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
AHFA lends up to $10,000 (4% of price) as a 10-year second mortgage repaid monthly. 2026 income and price limits, a small closing grant and city help.
Alaska First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
AHFC's 2026 first-time loans start at 6.5%, with 3% down and rate cuts up to 1% for lower incomes and veterans. Limits by borough and partner help.
Arizona First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
Arizona's HOME Plus gives up to 4% as a loan forgiven after 5 years, not a grant. 2026 income caps, Maricopa and Pima options, Phoenix and Tucson help.
California First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
CalHFA's MyHome covers up to 3.5% of the price and Dream For All up to $150,000. 2026 county income limits, LA and San Diego help, and what you repay.
Colorado First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
CHFA's 2026 help: a 3% grant you don't repay, a 4% deferred loan, $25,000 for first-generation buyers, plus metroDPA, Boulder H2O and county limits.
Connecticut First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
CHFA's Time To Own gives up to $25,000 as a forgivable loan, not a grant. 2026 CT income and price limits, plus Hartford, New Haven and Bridgeport help.