Oklahoma First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
Quick Answer: The Oklahoma Housing Finance Agency (OHFA) gives 3.5% of the loan amount for down payment and closing costs with its Gold and DREAM mortgages, per rates effective November 3, 2026, but it's a 0% silent second lien you repay when you sell, refinance or pay off the first loan.
Full answer and how we checked it
It isn't a grant. The statewide option that is a true gift comes from REI Oklahoma, a nonprofit, whose Home100 program gives 3% to 5% of the loan amount with no repayment (summary dated January 9, 2026). Locally, the Tulsa County First Home program gives 3.5% as a loan forgiven over 5 years, and Oklahoma City's DPA gives up to $18,000 plus $5,000 for a rate buydown as a loan forgiven over 10 years. For how Oklahoma compares with other states, see our national first-time home buyer grants guide.
This guide is for: people buying their first home in Oklahoma who want to know which down payment programs are real money, which are loans, and what the income and price caps are in Oklahoma City, Tulsa and the rest of the state.
Data note: Grantsights checked OHFA's DPA products page (opens in a new tab), homeownership FAQ (opens in a new tab), interest rates page (opens in a new tab) and Gold and DREAM income exhibits against REI Oklahoma's Home100 program summary, the Tulsa County and Oklahoma County Home Finance Authority documents posted by their administrator, the City of Oklahoma City Homebuyer Assistance page (opens in a new tab) and its 2025 program guidelines, IRS Form 8828 instructions and U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts on November 3, 2026. Oklahoma's county home values below are 2020-2024 Census survey medians, so they lag current listing prices.
In this guide (10 sections)
- Oklahoma Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)
- OHFA Income and Purchase Price Limits by County
- How Far 3.5% Goes in Oklahoma's Biggest Counties
- Local Help in Oklahoma City, Tulsa, Norman and Lawton
- FHA, VA and USDA Loans in Oklahoma
- What OHFA Doesn't Tell You on Its Homebuyer Pages
- Common Mistakes and Red Flags for Oklahoma Buyers
- How to Apply in Oklahoma, Step by Step
- What to Do If Funds Run Out or You're Denied
- Sources
Oklahoma Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)
This guide covers 8 Oklahoma programs, and only 2 of them are true grants with no strings once you close. Each row reflects the agency's own pages as checked on November 3, 2026.
| Oklahoma program | Run by | Type | Amount | Repayment terms | First-time buyer rule | Credit minimum | Funding status (as stated by agency) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OHFA Gold (government or Freddie Mac) | OHFA | First mortgage plus deferred 0% second lien | 3.5% of the loan amount | DPA repaid on sale, refinance, payoff or move-out | Required unless the home is in a targeted census tract | 640 | Rates posted November 3, 2026; OHFA doesn't post a funding balance |
| OHFA DREAM (government or Freddie Mac) | OHFA | First mortgage plus deferred 0% second lien, or no DPA ("ZERO") | 3.5% of the loan amount, or 0% | Same as Gold | Not required; you may own other property | 640 | Rates posted November 3, 2026; no funding balance posted |
| OHFA 4 Schools, Shield and State Employees | OHFA | Lower rate on a Gold loan, same DPA | 3.5% of the loan amount | Same as Gold | Same as Gold | 640 | Rates posted November 3, 2026 |
| OHFA Housing Stability Program DPA | OHFA | Grant | 5% of the purchase price | Page states no repayment terms | Not stated | Not stated | Only on homes built through OHFA's Homebuilder or Housing Trust Fund programs; some Housing Stability funding rounds are paused |
| REI Home100 Gift | REI Oklahoma (nonprofit) | Grant (gift) | 3% to 5% of the loan amount | None | Not stated in the program summary | 640 for most FHA, VA and USDA loans | REI doesn't post a funding status |
| REI Home100 Hybrid | REI Oklahoma (nonprofit) | Half gift, half repayable loan | 5% of the loan amount (2.5% gift, 2.5% loan) | Loan half repaid monthly over 10 years at 5% | Not stated | 640 | No funding status posted |
| Tulsa County First Home | Tulsa County Home Finance Authority | Forgivable loan, 0% | 3.5% of the note amount | Forgiven over 5 years | Required (buyer and spouse) | 620 | Program 2025A listed under current offerings, with a waitlist for fallout |
| Oklahoma City DPA | City of Oklahoma City (HUD HOME funds) | Forgivable loan | Up to $18,000, plus up to $5,000 for a rate buydown | Prorated 1/120th per month over 10 years and 60 days | None | Not published | City doesn't post a funding status |
| Oklahoma County MCC | Oklahoma County Home Finance Authority | Federal tax credit | 50% of yearly mortgage interest, capped at $2,000 a year | None, but federal recapture tax may apply within 9 years | Required unless veteran or targeted area | Not published | Program runs through loans closing by December 31, 2027 |
Sources: OHFA program, FAQ and interest rate pages; REI Home100 Government Program Summary (January 9, 2026); Tulsa County First Home program highlights and limits (09/03/26); Oklahoma County MCC guide (rev. 06/03/25); City of Oklahoma City DPA guidelines (2025). All checked November 3, 2026.
The plain version: OHFA's money is a loan that waits for you, and it's due in full when the first mortgage ends. REI's gift and OHFA's builder-linked grant don't come back. Tulsa County's and Oklahoma City's loans disappear if you stay long enough.
Oklahoma County's former Turnkey Plus grant isn't in the table because its administrator's page lists it as "Temporarily Suspended 04/15/26."
Get grant deadline alerts by email
About once a week, we email a short list of open grant calls with real deadlines from different funders. It isn't limited to the programs in this guide.
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
OHFA Income and Purchase Price Limits by County
OHFA's Gold loan uses one statewide purchase price limit of $349,525 ($427,198 in targeted census tracts) and income limits that change by county and household size. According to OHFA's DPA products page, the DREAM government loan instead has a flat $150,000 income limit and a $356,362 price limit statewide, and DREAM Freddie Mac conventional loans allow up to $453,100.
| County (most populous first) | Gold limit, 1-2 people | Gold limit, 3+ people | Gold targeted tracts, 1-2 / 3+ | DREAM government income limit | Gold price limit (non-targeted / targeted) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oklahoma (Oklahoma City, Edmond) | $97,700 | $112,355 | $117,240 / $136,780 | $150,000 | $349,525 / $427,198 |
| Tulsa (Tulsa, Broken Arrow) | $98,474 | $113,245 | $108,360 / $126,420 | $150,000 | $349,525 / $427,198 |
| Cleveland (Norman, Moore) | $97,700 | $112,355 | $117,240 / $136,780 | $150,000 | $349,525 / $427,198 |
| Canadian (Yukon, Mustang) | $97,700 | $112,355 | No targeted tracts listed | $150,000 | $349,525 |
| Comanche (Lawton) | $89,400 | $104,300 | $104,280 / $121,660 | $150,000 | $349,525 / $427,198 |
| Rogers (Claremore) | $98,474 | $113,245 | No targeted tracts listed | $150,000 | $349,525 |
| Wagoner | $98,474 | $113,245 | No targeted tracts listed | $150,000 | $349,525 |
| Payne (Stillwater) | $99,840 | $114,878 | No targeted tracts listed | $150,000 | $349,525 |
| Creek (Sapulpa) | $98,474 | $113,245 | No targeted tracts listed | $150,000 | $349,525 |
| Muskogee | $91,680 | $106,960 | $104,280 / $121,660 | $150,000 | $349,525 / $427,198 |
Source: OHFA Exhibit H-1A and H-2A, "2025 Maximum Household Income Limits" and "2025 Maximum Purchase Price Limits," Gold government income limits released 09/01/2025, and Exhibit H-1C, DREAM government income limits, both linked from OHFA's DPA products page (opens in a new tab) as of November 3, 2026. Counties are listed by their July 1, 2025 Census population estimate, largest first. "Targeted" means specific census tracts listed in the exhibit, not whole counties.
Two notes on that table. OHFA's posted Gold limits are labeled 2025 and dated September 1, 2025; they're the newest ones OHFA links, but ask your lender if a 2026 exhibit has been issued before you rely on a number close to the line. And Gold counts the income of everyone in the household, while DREAM uses your mortgage lender's qualifying income, so a household with a working adult child often fits DREAM more easily.
The other income tables you might run into
Tulsa County's and REI's programs publish their own caps. Tulsa County's First Home limits dated 09/03/26 are $102,335 for 1 to 2 people and $117,685 for 3 or more outside targeted areas ($114,000 and $133,000 inside them), with sales price caps of $566,354 and $692,211. REI's Exhibit A for gift loans sets $148,500 and $173,250 in Oklahoma, Cleveland and Canadian counties and $135,450 and $158,025 in Tulsa, Rogers, Wagoner and Creek counties. Oklahoma County's MCC caps income at $97,700 and $112,355 outside targeted tracts and price at $544,232.
How Far 3.5% Goes in Oklahoma's Biggest Counties
On Oklahoma's $199,800 statewide median, Grantsights analysis of Census Bureau QuickFacts home values (2020-2024 ACS) shows OHFA's 3.5%-of-the-loan assistance covers about $6,748, which falls $245 short of a 3.5% FHA down payment. Because OHFA figures its DPA on the loan amount, not the price, it never quite covers a full FHA down payment by itself.
| County | Median value of owner-occupied homes | FHA base loan (96.5%) | OHFA 3.5% DPA on that loan | 3.5% FHA down payment | Shortfall you cover |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oklahoma (statewide) | $199,800 | $192,807 | $6,748 | $6,993 | $245 |
| Oklahoma County | $222,900 | $215,098 | $7,528 | $7,802 | $273 |
| Tulsa County | $230,400 | $222,336 | $7,782 | $8,064 | $282 |
| Cleveland County | $235,700 | $227,450 | $7,961 | $8,250 | $289 |
| Canadian County | $246,200 | $237,583 | $8,315 | $8,617 | $302 |
| Rogers County | $240,500 | $232,082 | $8,123 | $8,418 | $295 |
| Comanche County | $163,800 | $158,067 | $5,532 | $5,733 | $201 |
Calculation: base FHA loan of 96.5% of the median value; OHFA assistance of 3.5% of that loan; FHA minimum down payment of 3.5% from HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab). Figures ignore FHA's upfront mortgage insurance premium, which some lenders finance into the loan. Medians are 2020-2024 ACS values from Census Bureau QuickFacts and run below 2026 sale prices.
The gap is small, a few hundred dollars, but it's real, and closing costs (appraisal, title, prepaid taxes and insurance) come on top of it. Every one of these medians sits well under Gold's $349,525 price cap, so in most of Oklahoma the price limit isn't what stops buyers; income and credit are.
Local Help in Oklahoma City, Tulsa, Norman and Lawton
The 4 biggest cities handle help very differently, and OHFA's own May 14, 2026 notice says it doesn't provide HOME funds in Oklahoma City, Lawton, Norman, Tulsa or the Tulsa County HOME Consortium, because those places run their own programs.
Oklahoma City: up to $18,000 forgivable loan
According to the City of Oklahoma City's 2025 DPA program guidelines, assistance is a forgivable loan of up to $18,000, with another $5,000 reserved for an interest rate buydown, sized to each buyer's need. Rules from the guidelines and the city's Homebuyer Assistance page (opens in a new tab):
- Household income at or below 80% of area median income: $54,750 for one person, $62,550 for two, $70,350 for three and $78,150 for four (the page doesn't give an effective date).
- No first-time buyer requirement, but the home must be inside the city's DPA program boundary (the boundary exhibit is labeled 2024-25).
- You put in at least 1% of the price, and liquid assets above $15,000 go toward the purchase where practicable.
- A fixed-rate first mortgage with taxes and insurance escrowed; no adjustable-rate or interest-only loans.
- The affordability period is 10 years and 60 days, forgiven 1/120th per month, secured by a deferred note and mortgage in the city's favor.
- No homes in FEMA 100-year flood zones, and the price can't exceed 95% of HUD's published median sales price for Oklahoma City.
- A HUD-certified homebuyer education class before you get the money.
The city's partners, the Community Action Agency of Oklahoma City (405-232-0199) and Neighborhood Housing Services Oklahoma (405-231-4663), take applications. The city doesn't post whether funds are currently available.
Tulsa County: 3.5% forgivable over 5 years
Tulsa County Home Finance Authority's First Home program (2025A) pairs an FHA, VA or USDA first mortgage with 3.5% of the note amount as a 0% second mortgage forgiven over 5 years. Its administrator's program page lists a 620 minimum credit score, requires homebuyer education, and says both the buyer and spouse must be first-time buyers. Non-occupant co-borrowers aren't allowed. The page shows a lock rate of 6.350% and lists a waitlist for fallout, which suggests reservations can fill up. It covers homes anywhere in Tulsa County, including the City of Tulsa and Broken Arrow.
Grantsights didn't find a current City of Tulsa down payment program for individual buyers on the city's own website as of November 3, 2026.
Norman and Edmond
Neighborhood Housing Services Oklahoma lists the City of Norman and the City of Edmond among the programs it handles, with help ranging from $1,000 to $18,000 depending on the program and property location. Its page doesn't break out Norman's or Edmond's own amounts, income limits or funding status, so ask NHS Oklahoma which program fits your address. OHFA's May 2026 notice also mentions a HOME grant to NHS Oklahoma to help 10 buyers in Cleveland, Logan and Pottawatomie counties.
Lawton
Lawton runs its own HOME program per OHFA's notice, but Grantsights didn't find homebuyer dollar amounts posted on the city's site. Comanche County buyers can still use OHFA, where the Gold limit is $89,400 for 1 to 2 people, or REI.
FHA, VA and USDA Loans in Oklahoma
Almost every program here rides on one of 3 federal loan types, and the FHA minimum down payment is 3.5% of the price according to HUD. OHFA's Gold and DREAM "government" loans are these loans delivered through OHFA-approved lenders.
- FHA: HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab) lists down payments as low as 3.5%. OHFA, REI and Tulsa County all accept FHA, with their own credit floors on top.
- VA: Oklahoma veterans and eligible service members can put nothing down if the price stays at or under the appraisal, according to the VA purchase loan page (opens in a new tab). The Oklahoma County MCC waives its first-time rule for veterans.
- USDA guaranteed: rural homes, household income up to 115% of area median, per the USDA Rural Development guaranteed loan page (opens in a new tab). Check the address on USDA's eligibility map before you assume a home outside the big metros qualifies.
- HUD Section 184: REI's Home100 also works with HUD's loan program for Native American borrowers, with a 2.5% gift that REI's summary describes as "a true gift with no repayment required."
The national first-time home buyer guide explains these loan types in more depth, and our USDA housing grants guide covers USDA's direct loans for lower-income rural buyers.
What OHFA Doesn't Tell You on Its Homebuyer Pages
Grantsights compared OHFA's program pages with its rate sheet and limit exhibits and found 4 things a buyer should know before choosing a loan.
- The DPA costs you through the rate. On November 3, 2026, OHFA's DREAM Government loan with 3.5% DPA was priced at 8.250%, while DREAM Government ZERO, with no DPA, was 7.250%. Grantsights analysis of that rate sheet shows that on a $192,807 loan, the extra point adds about $133 a month in principal and interest, so you'd pay more in extra interest than the $6,748 in assistance within roughly 51 months, and you still owe the $6,748 back. Gold's 6.875% is cheaper, which is why first-time buyers who qualify for Gold rarely want DREAM.
- "Assistance" means a loan. The homebuyer page says OHFA "offers 3.5% of the total loan amount" but doesn't say on that page that it's repayable. The FAQ does: it's a silent second lien, no interest or fees, and "all assistance must be repaid."
- The posted limits are a year old. OHFA's Gold and DREAM income exhibits are labeled 2025 and dated September 1, 2025. They're what OHFA links today, but federal income figures change every year, so ask your lender which table it's using.
- Recapture tax applies to Gold. OHFA's own Recapture Tax 101 sheet says Gold loans are funded by mortgage revenue bonds, so selling within 9 years at a gain, after a big income jump, can trigger a federal tax. It notes the tax can't exceed half the gain or 6.25% of the original loan, whichever is less. IRS Form 8828 instructions (opens in a new tab) explain how the figure is calculated.
One more gap: the special public-servant rates (OHFA 4 Schools and Shield) are only 0.125 point lower than standard Gold on the November 3 rate sheet (6.750% versus 6.875% for government loans). That's worth having, but it isn't a separate grant, whatever some ads suggest.
Common Mistakes and Red Flags for Oklahoma Buyers
Most Oklahoma buyers who get burned make one of 5 mistakes, and each one is avoidable before you sign a purchase contract.
- Picking DREAM when you qualify for Gold. A common mistake is taking the first OHFA product a lender quotes. If you're a first-time buyer under the Gold limits, Gold's lower rate usually wins.
- Assuming REI and OHFA are the same thing. They're separate. REI is a nonprofit using U.S. Bank-approved lenders; OHFA uses its own approved lenders. Your loan officer may only offer one.
- Underestimating the REI fees. REI's Home100 summary lists an investor funding fee of $475, a tax service fee of $84 and a $185 compliance fee paid at closing, plus a $175 servicing fee on the amortizing second mortgage. Ask for a Loan Estimate that shows them.
- Missing the Oklahoma City boundary. The city's $18,000 only applies inside its DPA boundary. A red flag is any listing that promises "OKC down payment help" without checking the address.
- Paying someone to find grants. The FTC's government grant scams page (opens in a new tab) warns that agencies don't charge fees to award grants. Real Oklahoma help comes through a lender, OHFA, REI, a county finance authority or the city's housing partners.
If you'll need repairs after closing, our guide to home repair grants for low-income homeowners lists the federal options.
How to Apply in Oklahoma, Step by Step
Getting OHFA or local help takes 5 steps, and you start with a lender, not the agency.
- Find your county's limit. Use the Gold table above, or the Tulsa County, REI or Oklahoma City numbers if you're buying there. Check that your middle credit score is at least 640 (620 for Tulsa County).
- Take a homebuyer education course. Tulsa County and Oklahoma City require one, and OHFA points buyers to its CreditSmart Homebuyer U course. REI says education is recommended but not required.
- Get pre-approved by a participating lender. Use OHFA's approved lender list (opens in a new tab) for Gold or DREAM. For REI or Tulsa County, ask whether the lender is approved for those programs; the lender reserves the assistance.
- Add city help if you qualify. In Oklahoma City, contact the Community Action Agency or NHS Oklahoma before you sign a contract so the address can clear the boundary and flood zone review.
- Close and keep your papers. Oklahoma DPA is wired to the closing table rather than paid out to the buyer. Save every second-lien and city note you sign, since a future sale or refinance will need them.
For example, a couple in Tulsa County earning $85,000 a year and buying a $220,000 home with an FHA loan would have a base loan of $212,300 and need a $7,700 down payment. They're under OHFA's Tulsa County Gold limit of $98,474 and Tulsa County First Home's $102,335. Either program gives 3.5% of the loan, about $7,430. The difference is what happens later: OHFA's $7,430 is due when they sell or refinance, while Tulsa County's is forgiven after 5 years. If they plan to stay 5 years, the county program is the better deal, as long as both are first-time buyers.
Oklahoma City is one city in Oklahoma where the timing matters more. A family of three earning $68,000 is under the city's $70,350 limit and could get up to $18,000, sized to need, on a home inside the DPA boundary, forgiven 1/120th per month. If they sell in year 5, roughly half would still be owed back.
What to Do If Funds Run Out or You're Denied
OHFA posts no funding balance for Gold or DREAM, so if your lender says a product isn't available, ask whether it's a rate-lock or funding problem.
- If Tulsa County First Home is full: the administrator lists a waitlist for fallout; ask your lender to add you. OHFA Gold or REI can fill the gap meanwhile.
- If you're over a limit: check whether your census tract is targeted, where Gold limits rise to $117,240 for 1 to 2 people in Oklahoma County, or look at DREAM's $150,000 cap.
- If your score is under 640: a HUD-approved housing counselor can help you build a plan, and our guide on how to apply for grants as an individual explains how to sort real programs from paid pitches.
- If buying has to wait: the rental assistance programs guide and the HUD income limits guide show what you may qualify for while you save.
To see how federal HOME money funds city programs like Oklahoma City's, read the HUD HOME program guide.
Not sure which Oklahoma route fits your household? The free eligibility checker matches your answers to official programs and agency links; it doesn't award money or file anything on your behalf.
For nearby states, see the Texas, Arkansas and Kansas guides.
Sources
- OHFA, Homebuyers (opens in a new tab) and Down Payment and Closing Cost Assistance products (opens in a new tab) (checked November 3, 2026)
- OHFA, Homeownership FAQ (opens in a new tab) and DPA program requirements (opens in a new tab)
- OHFA, Interest Rates (opens in a new tab) (effective 10:00 a.m., November 3, 2026)
- OHFA, Special rates for school employees, first responders and state employees (opens in a new tab)
- OHFA, Gold government income and purchase price limits, Exhibits H-1A and H-2A (opens in a new tab) (released 09/01/2025) and DREAM government income limits, Exhibit H-1C (opens in a new tab)
- OHFA, Recapture Tax 101 (opens in a new tab)
- OHFA, Oklahoma Housing Stability Program (opens in a new tab) and Trustees Reinstate HOME Program (opens in a new tab) (May 14, 2026)
- OHFA, Approved lenders (opens in a new tab)
- REI Oklahoma, Homebuyers (opens in a new tab) and Government Home100 Program Summary (opens in a new tab) (January 9, 2026)
- Tulsa County Home Finance Authority (administered by eHousingPlus), First Home program highlights (opens in a new tab) and income and sales price limits (opens in a new tab) (09/03/26)
- Oklahoma County Home Finance Authority, program page (opens in a new tab), program highlights (opens in a new tab), 2025-2027 MCC guide (opens in a new tab) and MCC income and sales price limits (opens in a new tab) (rev. 06/03/25)
- City of Oklahoma City, Homebuyer Assistance (opens in a new tab) and 2025 DPA program guidelines (opens in a new tab)
- Neighborhood Housing Services Oklahoma, Down Payment Assistance (opens in a new tab)
- IRS, Instructions for Form 8828 (opens in a new tab)
- HUD, Loans (FHA) (opens in a new tab)
- VA, VA purchase loan (opens in a new tab)
- USDA Rural Development guaranteed loan rules (opens in a new tab), as they apply to buyers in Oklahoma
- U.S. Census Bureau, QuickFacts: Oklahoma and its largest counties (opens in a new tab) and Rogers, Wagoner, Payne, Creek and Muskogee counties (opens in a new tab) (median value of owner-occupied homes, 2020-2024; population estimates July 1, 2025)
- FTC, Government Grant Scams (opens in a new tab)
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a first-time home buyer grant in Oklahoma?
Not from OHFA. Its down payment assistance, 3.5% of the loan amount, is a 0% silent second lien that has to be repaid when you sell, refinance or pay off the first mortgage. The closest thing to a statewide grant is REI Oklahoma's Home100 gift option, from a nonprofit rather than a state agency, which gives 3% to 5% of the loan amount with no repayment. OHFA's Housing Stability Program also gives 5% grants, but only on homes built through its Homebuilder or Housing Trust Fund programs.
How much is OHFA down payment assistance in 2026?
OHFA's interest rate page, effective November 3, 2026, lists 3.50% down payment assistance on its Gold and DREAM loans, figured on the total loan amount. On a $192,807 FHA loan that's about $6,748. OHFA's FAQ says the money is recorded as a silent second lien with no interest or fees, and all of it must be repaid.
What are the OHFA income limits?
For the Gold government loan, OHFA's exhibit released September 1, 2025 sets limits by county and household size. Oklahoma and Cleveland counties are $97,700 for 1 to 2 people and $112,355 for 3 or more, or $117,240 and $136,780 in targeted census tracts. Tulsa County is $98,474 and $113,245. The DREAM government loan has a flat $150,000 limit statewide.
What credit score do I need for an OHFA loan?
OHFA's DPA program requirements page lists a middle credit score of 640 or higher. REI Oklahoma's Home100 summary also lists 640 for most FHA, VA and USDA loans, with higher scores for manufactured homes and higher debt ratios. The Tulsa County First Home program lists 620.
Do I have to be a first-time buyer to use OHFA?
Only for the Gold loan outside targeted areas. OHFA's DREAM loan lets you own another property, as long as the new home is your primary residence. The Tulsa County First Home program and the Oklahoma County MCC require first-time buyers, and Oklahoma City's HOME-funded DPA has no first-time rule.
Is REI Oklahoma a state program?
No. REI Oklahoma's own Home100 program summary describes it as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit. Its down payment help is statewide and comes through lenders approved by U.S. Bank, but it isn't run by OHFA or another state agency.
What happens to OHFA assistance if I refinance?
It comes due. OHFA's FAQ lists a refinance, a sale, payoff of the first mortgage, or moving out as events that trigger repayment of the full assistance. Plan for that before refinancing when rates fall.
Are Oklahoma home buyer grant ads real?
Be skeptical of any that ask for money. The FTC says real government grants never require a fee to receive them. OHFA, REI, Tulsa County and Oklahoma City help all comes through participating lenders or local housing agencies, not through paid grant-finding services.
Last updated November 3, 2026. Published by Grantsights from public sources. See our editorial policy, how we build and check guides, corrections and how we make money.
Related Guides
Alabama First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
AHFA lends up to $10,000 (4% of price) as a 10-year second mortgage repaid monthly. 2026 income and price limits, a small closing grant and city help.
Alaska First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
AHFC's 2026 first-time loans start at 6.5%, with 3% down and rate cuts up to 1% for lower incomes and veterans. Limits by borough and partner help.
Arizona First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
Arizona's HOME Plus gives up to 4% as a loan forgiven after 5 years, not a grant. 2026 income caps, Maricopa and Pima options, Phoenix and Tucson help.
Arkansas First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
ADFA's down payment help is a repayable 10-year loan of up to $15,000, not a grant. 2026 county income limits, plus Little Rock and Jonesboro programs.
California First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
CalHFA's MyHome covers up to 3.5% of the price and Dream For All up to $150,000. 2026 county income limits, LA and San Diego help, and what you repay.
Colorado First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
CHFA's 2026 help: a 3% grant you don't repay, a 4% deferred loan, $25,000 for first-generation buyers, plus metroDPA, Boulder H2O and county limits.