Skip to content

Kansas First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026

By GrantsightsUpdated 10 official sourcesHow we checkCorrections

Quick Answer: The Kansas Housing Resources Corporation (KHRC) First Time Homebuyer (FTHB) program gives 15% or 20% of the purchase price, up to $40,000, as a 0% forgivable soft second mortgage with no monthly payments, per its program summary updated January 20, 2026.

Full answer and how we checked it

It's fully forgiven after 10 years in the home, so it works like a grant only if you stay. Income must be at or below 80% of area median income (HUD 2026 limits effective June 1, 2026), and most counties cap the price at $219,000 (effective December 1, 2025). The program can't be used in Johnson County or in Wichita, Topeka, Lawrence or Kansas City, Kansas, which run their own programs. For how Kansas compares with other states, see our national first-time home buyer grants guide.

This guide is for: first-time buyers in Kansas, especially outside Wichita, Topeka, Lawrence, Kansas City and Johnson County, who want to know what the state's down payment program really pays and what strings come with it.

Data note: Grantsights checked KHRC's First Time Homebuyer page (opens in a new tab), FTHB program summary (opens in a new tab), fact sheet (opens in a new tab), 2026 HOME income limits (opens in a new tab) and HOME purchase price limits (opens in a new tab) against KHRC's Homebuyer 101 resources, the state's savings account page, city and land trust pages for Wichita, Topeka, Lawrence and Kansas City, Kansas, and U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts on November 3, 2026. The county home values used here are Census survey medians for 2020-2024 and will trail what Kansas homes sell for today.

In this guide (10 sections)

Kansas Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)

This guide covers 7 Kansas programs, and the biggest by far is KHRC's FTHB, which can put up to $40,000 toward one purchase. The table lays them side by side, using what each agency posted on November 3, 2026.

Kansas programRun byTypeAmountRepayment termsFirst-time buyer ruleCredit minimumFunding status (as stated by agency)
First Time Homebuyer (FTHB)KHRC (federal HOME funds)Forgivable loan, 0%15% of price (51% to 80% AMI) or 20% (50% AMI or less), max $40,000No payments; fully forgiven after 10 years; partly repaid on sale or refinance before thenNo home owned in the past 3 years (with exceptions for displaced homemakers and some single parents)None set by KHRC; first mortgage rules applyKHRC doesn't post a funding status; ask a participating lender
Kansas First-Time Home Buyer Savings AccountState of KansasState income tax deductionDeduct up to $3,000 a year (single) or $6,000 (joint)Not a loan; nonqualified withdrawals are taxableMust not have owned a homeNoneOngoing; no deadline posted
Home Loan Guarantee for Rural KansasKHRCGuarantee to your lenderCovers loan above 80% of value, up to 125%, max $100,000 per guaranteeYou repay the full loan; the guarantee protects the lenderNot statedLender's rules$2 million in guaranty authority; KHRC doesn't post a current balance
HOMEownership 80City of Wichita (HOME funds)Down payment and closing cost helpAmount not postedNot postedFirst-time buyersMust qualify for a 30-year fixed loanOnly for new homes built by the city's housing partners
Topeka Opportunity to Own (TOTO)City of TopekaEducation, financing and rehab helpAmount not postedNot postedFirst-time buyersNot postedListed among the city's housing programs; no funding status posted
Lawrence Community Housing TrustTenants to Homeowners (nonprofit)Below-market price on a land trust homePrice reduced by a subsidy that stays with the homeResale limited; seller keeps equity plus 25% of appreciationNot stated670Income table updated June 2026; open status not stated
Build WyCo Community Land TrustBuild WyCo (Kansas City, Kansas)Below-market price on a land trust homeAssistance based on income (page example: $40,000 off a $200,000 home)Resale formula shares appreciationNot statedCLT lender's rulesPurchase status not stated; repair grants listed as "Currently Closed"

Sources: KHRC FTHB page, program summary (1/20/26) and fact sheet (3/19/26); KHRC Home Loan Guarantee page; State of Kansas savings account page; City of Wichita Homeownership page and HOME 80 details; City of Topeka Housing and Homeless page; Tenants to Homeowners eligibility page; Build WyCo CLT page. All checked November 3, 2026.

KHRC's money is large next to its neighbors: Oklahoma's housing finance agency gives 3.5% of the loan amount, while KHRC gives 15% to 20% of the price. The catch is geography and price: the biggest metros are excluded, and a $219,000 cap rules out many homes in the faster-growing counties.

Get grant deadline alerts by email

About once a week, we email a short list of open grant calls with real deadlines from different funders. It isn't limited to the programs in this guide.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

KHRC Income and Purchase Price Limits by Area (2026)

KHRC's income limits come from HUD's 2026 HOME income limits, effective June 1, 2026, and its price caps from HUD's HOME value limits effective December 1, 2025. According to KHRC's income limits document, "Low Income and below" (80% of area median) qualifies for up to 15% of the sale price, and "Very Low Income and below" (50%) for up to 20%.

Area (FTHB-eligible parts only)80% limit, 2 people80% limit, 4 people50% limit, 4 people (20% tier)Purchase price limit
Wichita metro: Sedgwick County outside Wichita, Butler, Harvey$61,800$77,200$48,250$219,000
Kansas City metro: Wyandotte outside Kansas City, Leavenworth, Linn, Miami$72,600$90,700$56,700$252,000 ($266,000 in Miami)
Topeka metro: Shawnee outside Topeka, Jackson, Jefferson, Osage, Wabaunsee$63,250$79,050$49,400$219,000
Lawrence metro: Douglas County outside Lawrence$70,650$88,300$55,200$285,000
Manhattan metro: Riley, Pottawatomie$63,350$79,200$49,500$219,000
Saline County (Salina)$58,650$73,300$45,800$219,000
Finney County (Garden City)$58,800$73,450$45,900$219,000
Ford County (Dodge City)$56,100$70,100$43,800$219,000
Reno, Crawford and Geary counties$54,850$68,550$42,850$219,000

Sources: KHRC, "2026 HOME Program Income Limits," effective June 1, 2026 (HUD FY2026 adjusted HOME income limits); KHRC, "HOME Maximum Purchase Price Limits," value limits effective December 1, 2025. Johnson County isn't eligible for FTHB; its HUD limit is shown as $328,000 for reference only.

Two things to watch. First, these are household limits, and KHRC's program summary counts the gross income of the whole household, not just the people on the loan. Second, the 20% tier is real money for lower-income buyers: a family of four in Reno County earning under $42,850 could receive 20% of the price instead of 15%.

How Far KHRC's Assistance Goes in Kansas Counties

Grantsights analysis of the KHRC price limits against U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts median home values (2020-2024 ACS) finds that in 3 of the 9 largest FTHB-eligible counties the median home is above KHRC's price cap: Douglas, Leavenworth and Riley. Elsewhere, 15% of a median-priced home is $19,875 to $32,640.

CountyMedian value of owner-occupied homesKHRC price limitMedian under the cap?15% tier on a median home (or the cap)20% tier
Kansas (statewide)$217,200$219,000 (most counties)Yes$32,580$40,000 (cap)
Sedgwick$203,300$219,000Yes$30,495$40,000 (cap)
Shawnee$180,900$219,000Yes$27,135$36,180
Wyandotte$172,300$252,000Yes$25,845$34,460
Douglas$309,400$285,000No$40,000 (cap) at $285,000$40,000 (cap)
Leavenworth$282,900$252,000No$37,800 at $252,000$40,000 (cap)
Riley$237,100$219,000No$32,850 at $219,000$40,000 (cap)
Butler$217,600$219,000Yes, barely$32,640$40,000 (cap)
Saline$179,600$219,000Yes$26,940$35,920
Reno$132,500$219,000Yes$19,875$26,500

Calculation: 15% or 20% of the lower of the county median value or KHRC's price limit, capped at $40,000. County medians from Census Bureau QuickFacts include the excluded cities (Wichita, Topeka, Lawrence, Kansas City), so the eligible parts of those counties may run higher or lower. ACS medians run below 2026 sale prices.

The honest read: in Reno, Saline and Crawford, a typical home fits easily under the cap and the assistance is close to a full down payment plus closing costs. In Douglas County outside Lawrence, Leavenworth and Riley, you'll be shopping below the middle of the market to qualify.

Local Help in Wichita, Kansas City, Topeka, Lawrence and Overland Park

The 5 largest cities are exactly where KHRC's FTHB doesn't apply, so local programs matter more here than in most states. KHRC's fact sheet explains that "major metro areas receive their own federal resources."

Wichita: HOMEownership 80, new homes only

The City of Wichita's Homeownership page (opens in a new tab) says its HOMEownership 80 program helps first-time buyers with down payment and closing costs in the city's assistance areas, with HUD HOME funds. Right now it's limited: the city is only accepting applications for newly built single-family homes from its housing partners, Mennonite Housing, Residential Housing Solutions, Power CDC, Jakub's Ladder, Wichita Habitat for Humanity and Hope Community Development. You apply through one of them, take a class from a HUD-certified counseling agency, and need a 30-year fixed mortgage. The city's page and program sheet don't post a dollar amount.

Kansas City, Kansas: Build WyCo land trust homes

Build WyCo's community land trust (opens in a new tab) sells homes below market. You own the house and lease the land for $25 a month. Its own example shows $40,000 in assistance on a $200,000 home, for a $160,000 price, with the amount set by verified income. When you sell, you keep your mortgage equity plus a set share of any increase in value. Build WyCo doesn't post income limits or say whether purchases are open; its repair grants are listed as closed.

Topeka: Opportunity to Own (TOTO)

The City of Topeka's Housing and Homeless page (opens in a new tab) lists Topeka Opportunity To Own (TOTO) among its programs. The city's counseling partner describes it as helping Topeka residents become first-time owners through education, financing and rehab, at 785-234-0217. Neither source posts an amount, income limit or funding status, so ask before you count on it.

Lawrence: land trust homes from Tenants to Homeowners

The Lawrence Community Housing Trust (opens in a new tab) sells homes below market value and leases the land for $30 a month. Its income table, updated June 2026, allows up to $70,650 for two people and $88,300 for four at 80% of median, with higher tiers up to 120%. You need a 670 credit score, a down payment of 5% of your annual gross income, and $25 a month into a maintenance savings account. When you sell, you keep your equity plus 25% of the market appreciation. The page gives two different average subsidy figures ($75,000 and about $50,000), so ask for the number on the specific home.

Overland Park and the rest of Johnson County

Johnson County is excluded from KHRC's FTHB, and KHRC's Homebuyer 101 resources list only a home rehabilitation program for the county, not purchase help. Johnson County's $391,200 median home value is also well above every KHRC price limit. Buyers here usually rely on FHA, VA or conventional low-down-payment loans, and some compare options across the state line in our Missouri guide.

FHA, VA and USDA Loans in Kansas

KHRC's program summary requires a 30-year fixed first mortgage using FHA, VA, USDA Rural Development, Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac or conventional rules, with the rate no more than 0.65 point above Freddie Mac's weekly survey rate and an origination fee of 1.5% or less.

Our national first-time home buyer guide compares these loans side by side, and the USDA housing grants guide covers USDA's direct loans for lower-income rural buyers.

What KHRC Doesn't Tell You on Its Main Page

Grantsights compared KHRC's FTHB page with its program summary, fact sheet and limit tables and found 4 details that change how much you'd owe or whether you qualify.

  1. "Forgiven after 10 years" is two different clocks. KHRC's January 20, 2026 summary splits the assistance into two equal halves. The first half is forgiven month by month, over 5 years if the total is $14,999 or less, or over 10 years if it's $15,000 to $40,000. The second half isn't reduced at all until year 10 and is repaid if you sell or refinance before then. On a $30,000 award, selling after 5 years would leave about $22,500 owed: half of the first $15,000 plus all of the second $15,000.
  2. The fact sheet's income examples are a year old. The fact sheet, marked "updated 01/2026," says the 2026 limit for a family of four is $67,300 in Allen County, $75,050 in Sedgwick County and $89,100 in Leavenworth County. KHRC's own table effective June 1, 2026 shows $71,200, $77,200 and $90,700. Use the June table.
  3. Fixer-uppers rarely work. KHRC's fact sheet says the seller has to complete repairs so the home passes inspection, and inspection costs you pay can count toward your 1% contribution. A home needing major work is a poor fit unless the seller agrees to fix it first.
  4. You'll need more than 1% in some cases. You must put in at least 1% of the price from your own funds, but the summary also says applicants with $10,000 or more in non-retirement assets face a spend-down requirement, and title insurance for the soft second mortgage is likely an added cost.

KHRC also doesn't post whether FTHB money is available at any given time. Your participating lender starts the application and will know whether a reservation is possible.

Common Mistakes and Red Flags for Kansas Buyers

Kansas buyers tend to trip on 5 problems, and most of them show up after a contract is already signed.

  • Shopping inside an excluded city. A common mistake is finding a home with a Wichita, Topeka or Lawrence mailing address that's actually inside city limits. KHRC's rule is city limits, so check the parcel before you make an offer.
  • Counting on seller credits to fit under the cap. KHRC's limit applies to the purchase price, so a $225,000 contract is over the $219,000 cap even if the seller pays $6,000 of your closing costs.
  • Underestimating the repayment on an early sale. Buyers often assume a 10-year forgivable loan shrinks evenly. Half of it doesn't shrink at all until year 10.
  • Buying in a flood zone. KHRC's summary excludes properties in flood zones A, AE, AH, AO, A99, V and VE.
  • Paying for "grant access." A red flag is anyone charging a fee to get you a Kansas home buyer grant. The FTC's government grant scams page (opens in a new tab) says real agencies don't do that. KHRC money is requested by a participating lender.

If you'll need repairs or weatherization after you buy, our guide to home repair grants for low-income homeowners covers the federal programs.

How to Apply for KHRC's FTHB, Step by Step

KHRC's process has 6 steps, and you can't skip the counseling, because HUD pre-purchase counseling and homebuyer education are both required.

  1. Confirm the location. The home must be outside Johnson County and outside the city limits of Kansas City, Lawrence, Topeka and Wichita, and not in a listed flood zone.
  2. Check your income tier. Find your area in the table above. Under the 50% column, you're in the 20% tier; between that and the 80% column, the 15% tier.
  3. Complete HUD counseling and education. KHRC's instructions dated April 7, 2026 explain the required HUD housing counseling and homebuyer education.
  4. Pick a participating lender. KHRC posts a participating lender list (opens in a new tab) by service area. Apply for the first mortgage there, and ask for a Loan Estimate from more than one lender, as KHRC's fact sheet suggests.
  5. Find a qualified home and let the lender start the FTHB file. KHRC inspects the home, though you still arrange your own inspections.
  6. Close. The soft second mortgage is recorded behind your first mortgage, and you'll list KHRC on your homeowners insurance for 10 years.

Reno County is one county in Kansas where the math is easy to follow. For example, a couple there earning $52,000 a year and buying a $160,000 home in Hutchinson is under the area's $54,850 limit for two people but above the $34,300 very-low-income line, so they'd qualify for the 15% tier: up to $24,000. After their required 1% ($1,600), the first mortgage could be about $134,400 before closing costs. If they sell after 5 years, they'd repay roughly $18,000 of the $24,000 under KHRC's two-half structure. After 10 years, they'd owe nothing.

The state's first-time home buyer savings account (opens in a new tab) is worth opening at least a year before you plan to buy: a married couple can deduct up to $6,000 a year from Kansas income, and the money can cover the 1% contribution and closing costs.

What to Do If Funds Run Out or You're Denied

KHRC posts no funding balance for FTHB, and city programs in Wichita and Topeka don't post one either, so a "not right now" can mean timing rather than a denial.

  • If your lender says KHRC can't reserve funds: ask when the next reservation is possible and whether your purchase contract's closing date can move.
  • If you're over the income limit: recheck the household count; the limits rise with each person. If you're still over, FHA or USDA loans with no state help may be the better route.
  • If the home is over the price cap: a land trust home through Build WyCo or the Lawrence Community Housing Trust can bring the price down, if you're buying in those areas.
  • If your credit isn't ready: KHRC's fact sheet points buyers to a HUD-approved housing counseling agency. Our guide on how to apply for grants as an individual also explains how to tell real programs from paid offers.
  • If buying has to wait: see our rental assistance programs guide and the HUD income limits guide.

KHRC's FTHB, Wichita's HOME 80 and Topeka's TOTO are all paid for with federal HOME money; the HUD HOME program guide explains how that funding works.

Want a quick sense of which Kansas routes match your household? Our free eligibility checker lines up your answers with official programs and links you to the agency; it can't grant money or submit an application.

For a neighboring state, see the Oklahoma guide.

Sources

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a first-time home buyer grant in Kansas?

Not a cash grant, but close to one. KHRC's First Time Homebuyer program gives an interest-free soft second mortgage of 15% or 20% of the purchase price, capped at $40,000, with no monthly payments. If you stay 10 years, all of it is forgiven. Sell or refinance earlier and you repay part of it.

How much is the Kansas First Time Homebuyer assistance?

According to KHRC's program summary updated January 20, 2026, households under 50% of area median income can get up to 20% of the sales price, and households between 51% and 80% can get up to 15%, with a $40,000 maximum. On a $200,000 home, that's up to $30,000 at the 15% tier.

What are the KHRC income limits for 2026?

KHRC uses HUD's 2026 HOME income limits, effective June 1, 2026. The 80% limit for a household of four is $77,200 in the Wichita metro counties (Butler, Harvey and Sedgwick outside Wichita), $90,700 in the Kansas City metro counties outside Kansas City and Johnson County, and $68,550 in counties such as Reno, Crawford and Geary.

Can I use the KHRC program in Wichita, Topeka or Kansas City?

No. KHRC's program summary says the property can't be within Johnson County or the city limits of Kansas City, Lawrence, Topeka or Wichita. Those places get their own federal HOME money and run their own programs, such as Wichita's HOMEownership 80 and Topeka's Opportunity to Own.

What credit score do I need for KHRC's program?

KHRC's fact sheet says the program has no credit score requirement, but you must qualify for a 30-year fixed first mortgage at a market rate. In practice, your lender's FHA, VA, USDA or conventional rules set the floor.

What is the purchase price limit for the Kansas FTHB program?

KHRC's HOME maximum purchase price limits, effective December 1, 2025, are $219,000 in most counties. They're $252,000 in Leavenworth, Linn and Wyandotte counties, $266,000 in Miami County and $285,000 in Douglas County.

Does Kansas have a first-time home buyer savings account?

Yes. Kansas lets you deduct deposits into a first-time home buyer savings account from your Kansas adjusted gross income, up to $3,000 a year for individual filers and $6,000 for joint filers, per the state's savings program page. Money must sit in the account at least a year before a qualified withdrawal.

Are Kansas home buyer grant ads real?

Many aren't. The FTC says no government agency charges a fee to give you a grant. KHRC's assistance is requested by your participating lender, not by you, and city programs go through named local partners.

Last updated November 3, 2026. Published by Grantsights from public sources. See our editorial policy, how we build and check guides, corrections and how we make money.