Alabama First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
Quick Answer: Alabama's state help comes from the Alabama Housing Finance Authority (AHFA).
Full answer and how we checked it
Step Up and First Step both give down payment help of 4% of the sales price, up to $10,000, but it's a 10-year second mortgage you repay monthly, not a grant. The only true state grant is the small Affordable Income Subsidy Grant, worth 0.5% or 1% of the loan on HFA Advantage conventional loans. First Step limits took effect June 24, 2026, and Step Up allows income up to $172,800. The best local deals are Huntsville's up to $24,999 and Mobile's up to $15,000, both forgiven after 5 years. Alabama's approach differs from most states; our national first-time home buyer grants guide shows how.
This guide is for: first-time buyers in Alabama who searched for "first time home buyer grants in Alabama" and want to know what AHFA and the cities really offer in 2026, and what you'll owe back.
Data note: Grantsights checked AHFA's Step Up page (opens in a new tab), First Step Mortgage Revenue Bonds page (opens in a new tab), Affordable Income Subsidy Grant page (opens in a new tab), eligibility page, posted interest rates and its income and sales price limits effective June 24, 2026 against the City of Huntsville housing page (opens in a new tab), the City of Mobile down payment page (opens in a new tab), IRS Form 8828 instructions and U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts on November 3, 2026. AHFA publishes its programs on ahfa.com, its official site.
In this guide (10 sections)
- Alabama Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)
- AHFA First Step Income and Sales Price Limits (June 24, 2026)
- How Far AHFA's $10,000 Goes in Alabama's Biggest Counties
- Local Help in Birmingham, Huntsville, Mobile and Montgomery
- FHA, VA and USDA Loans in Alabama
- What AHFA Doesn't Tell You on Its Program Pages
- Common Mistakes and Red Flags for Alabama Buyers
- How to Apply for AHFA Help, Step by Step
- If AHFA or City Funds Run Short, or You're Denied
- Sources
Alabama Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)
Alabama buyers have 3 AHFA products and 2 city programs in this guide. The AHFA down payment loan is unusual in the Southeast because it's repaid with a monthly payment from day one.
| Alabama program | Run by | Type | Amount | Repayment terms | First-time buyer rule | Credit minimum | Funding status (as stated by agency) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| First Step with DPA | AHFA | Below-market first mortgage plus repayable second loan | 4% of price, up to $10,000 | 10-year second mortgage, paid monthly with the first | No home owned in 3 years in non-target areas; repeat buyers OK in target areas | 640 | AHFA doesn't post a funding status; ask a participating lender |
| Step Up | AHFA | First mortgage plus repayable second loan | 4% of price, up to $10,000 | 10-year second mortgage, paid monthly with the first | None listed | 640 | Not posted |
| Affordable Income Subsidy Grant | AHFA (with Freddie Mac HFA Advantage) | Grant | 1% of loan (at or below 50% of AMI) or 0.5% (50.01% to 80%) | None | Follows the loan program | 640 | Not posted |
| Huntsville Homeownership Assistance Program (HOAP) | City of Huntsville (HUD HOME funds) | Forgivable loan | Up to $24,999 or 10% of price, based on need | 5-year deferred loan, 20% forgiven each year | First-time buyers | Not published | Listed on city page; funding level not stated |
| Mobile First Time Home Buyers' Program | City of Mobile (HUD funds) | Forgivable loan | Up to $15,000 | Forgiven if you live in the home 5 years | First-time buyers | Not published | Listed on city page; funding level not stated |
Sources: AHFA Step Up, First Step, Affordable Income Subsidy Grant and eligibility pages; City of Huntsville Housing page; City of Mobile Downpayment Assistance Program page. All checked November 3, 2026.
The honest summary: Alabama's state program isn't a grant and isn't even deferred. It's a 10-year loan with a payment. The upside is that the second mortgage is paid off after 10 years even if you never sell, and there's no lump sum waiting for you at the closing table when you move.
Get grant deadline alerts by email
About once a week, we email a short list of open grant calls with real deadlines from different funders. It isn't limited to the programs in this guide.
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
AHFA First Step Income and Sales Price Limits (June 24, 2026)
AHFA's First Step limits are set by 7 income areas and 2 price tiers. According to AHFA's income limits page, the figures apply to applications taken on or after June 24, 2026 and come from HUD; the sales price limits come from the IRS. Your lender tells you whether the address is in a "target" or "non-target" area.
| Area (counties) | Area median income | Target, 1-2 people | Target, 3+ people | Non-target, 1-2 people | Non-target, 3+ people |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Birmingham-Hoover HMFA (Bibb, Blount, Shelby, Jefferson, St. Clair) | $104,100 | $124,920 | $145,740 | $104,100 | $119,715 |
| Huntsville MSA (Limestone, Madison) | $115,100 | $138,120 | $161,140 | $115,100 | $132,365 |
| Auburn-Opelika HMFA (Lee) | $108,900 | $130,680 | $152,460 | $108,900 | $125,235 |
| Daphne-Fairhope-Foley MSA (Baldwin) | $102,400 | $122,880 | $143,360 | $102,400 | $117,760 |
| Tuscaloosa HMFA (Tuscaloosa, Hale) | $93,000 | $111,600 | $130,200 | $93,000 | $106,950 |
| Florence-Muscle Shoals MSA (Colbert, Lauderdale) | $95,900 | $115,080 | $134,260 | $95,900 | $110,285 |
| All other counties (including Mobile and Montgomery) | $89,500 | $107,400 | $125,300 | $89,500 | $102,925 |
Source: AHFA, Mortgage Revenue Bond Income Limits (opens in a new tab), effective June 24, 2026. Sales price limits from AHFA's sales price limits page (opens in a new tab), effective June 24, 2026: $692,211 in target areas and $566,355 in non-target areas. Step Up uses a single $172,800 qualifying income limit instead.
A detail worth noticing: Mobile County, the state's third-largest, falls under "all other counties," so a family of 3 in a non-target part of Mobile is capped at $102,925, about $16,800 less than the same family in Birmingham.
How Far AHFA's $10,000 Goes in Alabama's Biggest Counties
Alabama's low home prices change the picture. Using Census Bureau QuickFacts median home values (2020-2024 ACS), Grantsights analysis finds AHFA's assistance equals 4.0% of Alabama's $209,900 median value ($8,396), which covers a 3.5% FHA down payment and leaves $1,049 for closing costs. The math only breaks once a home costs more than about $285,700, the point where 3.5% passes $10,000.
| County | Median value of owner-occupied homes | AHFA DPA (4%, max $10,000) | 3.5% FHA down payment | Left for closing costs (or short) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama (statewide) | $209,900 | $8,396 | $7,347 | $1,049 left |
| Jefferson (Birmingham) | $240,000 | $9,600 | $8,400 | $1,200 left |
| Madison (Huntsville) | $299,200 | $10,000 | $10,472 | $472 short |
| Mobile | $190,700 | $7,628 | $6,675 | $953 left |
| Baldwin | $316,900 | $10,000 | $11,092 | $1,092 short |
| Tuscaloosa | $248,700 | $9,948 | $8,705 | $1,243 left |
| Montgomery | $171,900 | $6,876 | $6,017 | $859 left |
| Shelby | $326,100 | $10,000 | $11,414 | $1,414 short |
Calculation: lesser of 4% of the median value or $10,000, per AHFA's Step Up and First Step pages; FHA minimum down payment of 3.5% from HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab). Alabama county medians are 2020-2024 ACS numbers from Census Bureau QuickFacts.
Alabama's low prices make the 4% formula work almost everywhere. The trade-off is the payment: you're repaying that $8,000 to $10,000 over 10 years on top of your mortgage, so it raises your monthly cost during the years when money is usually tightest.
Local Help in Birmingham, Huntsville, Mobile and Montgomery
Grantsights found posted terms for 2 of Alabama's 4 largest cities, and both offer forgivable loans that are more generous than AHFA's.
Huntsville: up to $24,999, forgiven over 5 years
The City of Huntsville's housing page (opens in a new tab) describes its Homeownership Assistance Program (HOAP) for first-time buyers. It can provide up to $24,999 or 10% of the purchase price, calculated on your need, for a home inside Huntsville city limits. The money can go to the down payment, closing costs, a rate buy-down or principal reduction. It's a 5-year deferred loan, with 20% forgiven each year on the closing anniversary, and you must live there at least 5 years. The city funds it with its annual HUD HOME allocation, so income limits follow HUD rules.
Mobile: up to $15,000, forgiven after 5 years
The City of Mobile's Downpayment Assistance Program page (opens in a new tab) offers income-eligible first-time buyers up to $15,000 for down payment and eligible closing costs, for homes inside the city. The funds are forgiven if you live in the home for 5 years. Every participant completes pre-purchase counseling, and the home must pass a HUD Housing Quality Standards inspection. On city-sponsored new homes, the city may also add a second mortgage to make the price affordable.
Birmingham and Montgomery
Grantsights didn't find posted down payment terms on the City of Birmingham's website, and the City of Montgomery's Housing Development Division page showed no program terms when checked on November 3, 2026. In both cities, AHFA's programs are the dependable route, and a HUD-approved counselor can tell you about any city or nonprofit help that's funded this year.
FHA, VA and USDA Loans in Alabama
AHFA offers its programs on 4 loan types: FHA, VA, USDA and Freddie Mac's HFA Advantage conventional loan. Only the conventional option earns the small Affordable Income Subsidy Grant.
- FHA loans in Alabama need a 3.5% down payment, per HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab); AHFA's 4% assistance covers it on most homes under $285,700.
- VA loans need no down payment when the price doesn't exceed the appraised value, per the VA purchase loan page (opens in a new tab), so AHFA's help can go to closing costs instead.
- USDA loans need no down payment on eligible rural addresses, and much of Alabama qualifies. Our USDA housing grants guide covers USDA's direct loans and repair grants.
- HFA Advantage conventional loans are the only route to AHFA's grant, worth 0.5% or 1% of the loan depending on income.
For FHA versus VA versus USDA in more depth, the national guide lays them side by side.
What AHFA Doesn't Tell You on Its Program Pages
Grantsights compared AHFA's program, eligibility and rate pages and found 4 things a buyer should ask about.
- The second mortgage's rate isn't posted. AHFA's pages say the down payment money is "secured by a 10-year second mortgage" paid in one monthly check, but they don't publish its interest rate or payment. Ask the lender for the second-mortgage payment in writing before choosing AHFA.
- Step Up costs more than First Step. AHFA's posted rates on November 3, 2026 were 6.500% for First Step FHA, VA and USDA loans and 7.000% for First Step conventional, versus 7.250% and 7.750% for Step Up. On a $240,000 loan, 0.75 points is roughly $120 a month.
- The Mortgage Credit Certificate isn't on the current program list. An older AHFA success story mentions combining Step Up with an MCC, but AHFA's Available Programs page now lists only First Step, Step Up and the subsidy grant. Don't count on an MCC.
- First Step carries a recapture tax risk. First Step is a mortgage revenue bond program. According to IRS Form 8828 instructions (opens in a new tab), selling within 9 years can trigger a recapture tax capped at 50% of the gain and based on your income in the year of sale. Step Up isn't described as bond-financed, so this applies to First Step.
Common Mistakes and Red Flags for Alabama Buyers
Most Alabama buyers who get tripped up make 1 of 4 mistakes.
- Expecting a grant. A common mistake is reading "down payment assistance" as free money. AHFA's $10,000 adds a 10-year payment on top of your mortgage.
- Defaulting to Step Up. If your income fits First Step's area limit, it's the cheaper loan with the same down payment help.
- Underestimating cash needs in Madison, Baldwin and Shelby. A median home in those counties costs more than $285,700, so AHFA's $10,000 doesn't cover the full FHA down payment, before closing costs.
- Paying for "grant help." A red flag is any ad or caller charging to get you an Alabama home buyer grant. The FTC's government grant scams page (opens in a new tab) says not to pay up-front fees and that the government won't reach out to you unprompted about grants. AHFA help only comes through participating lenders.
How to Apply for AHFA Help, Step by Step
An AHFA purchase takes 6 steps, and the lender handles most of the paperwork with AHFA directly.
- Pick your program. Check First Step's area limit first; if you're over it, Step Up allows up to $172,800.
- Confirm your numbers. You need a 640 score and a debt-to-income ratio of 45% or less.
- Apply through a participating lender. AHFA doesn't take applications directly. Ask the lender for both the first and second mortgage payments.
- Complete homebuyer education. AHFA requires a homeownership education course for Step Up and the subsidy grant; city programs require their own counseling.
- Add city help if you qualify. Huntsville's and Mobile's programs need homes inside city limits and income-eligible buyers.
- Move in within 60 days. AHFA requires you to occupy the home as your primary residence within 60 days of closing.
For example, a couple in Mobile earning $60,000 and buying a $180,000 home with an FHA-backed First Step loan would need a $6,300 down payment. They're under the $89,500 non-target limit for 1 to 2 people. AHFA's 4% formula gives $7,200, which covers the down payment with $900 toward closing costs, repaid over 10 years. If they're income-eligible for the City of Mobile's program, up to $15,000 more could go to their down payment and closing costs, forgiven after 5 years in the home. If they used an HFA Advantage conventional loan instead and earned under 50% of area median income, the subsidy grant would add 1% of the loan, specifically about $1,746 on a $174,600 loan.
A single buyer in Huntsville earning $90,000 and buying a $300,000 home sits under First Step's $115,100 Madison County limit, so she should start there rather than with Step Up. AHFA's help caps at $10,000, about $500 short of the $10,500 FHA down payment. If her income is too high for Huntsville's HUD-funded program, the best route is to save that last $500 plus closing costs, or look at homes under $285,700.
If AHFA or City Funds Run Short, or You're Denied
AHFA doesn't post funding status for First Step or Step Up, so a participating lender is the only reliable check. City programs funded by HUD allocations can run out between program years.
- If you're over First Step's income limit: Step Up's $172,800 limit applies statewide, regardless of household size.
- If you've owned a home recently: ask the lender whether the address is in a First Step target area, where repeat buyers qualify, or use Step Up.
- If your score is under 640 or your debt ratio is over 45%: a HUD-approved counselor can help you build a plan. Our guide on how to apply for grants as an individual explains how to sort real help from paid "grant" offers.
- If you need to keep renting for now: see our rental assistance programs guide and HUD income limits guide. Once you own, the home repair grants guide lists repair programs for Alabama homeowners.
Huntsville's program runs on HUD HOME money; the HUD HOME program guide explains how that money reaches cities and counties, which helps you find a program near you.
For a quick check of which official programs fit you, the free eligibility checker points you to official routes. Think of it as a map to the right agency; it doesn't award money or submit applications.
Buying near a state line? Compare the Georgia, Tennessee and Florida guides.
Sources
- AHFA, Step Up (opens in a new tab) (checked November 3, 2026)
- AHFA, First Step Mortgage Revenue Bonds (opens in a new tab)
- AHFA, Income Limits (opens in a new tab) and Sales Price Limits (opens in a new tab) (effective June 24, 2026)
- AHFA, Affordable Income Subsidy Grant (opens in a new tab)
- AHFA, Check Your Eligibility (opens in a new tab), Available Programs (opens in a new tab) and Interest Rates (opens in a new tab) (rates checked November 3, 2026)
- AHFA, Success Stories: Stewart Family (opens in a new tab)
- City of Huntsville, Housing (opens in a new tab)
- City of Mobile, Downpayment Assistance Program (opens in a new tab) and Individuals Seeking Financial Assistance (opens in a new tab)
- IRS, Instructions for Form 8828 (opens in a new tab)
- HUD, Loans (FHA) (opens in a new tab)
- VA, VA purchase loan (opens in a new tab)
- U.S. Census Bureau, QuickFacts: Alabama and its largest counties (opens in a new tab) and Montgomery, Shelby, Lee and Morgan counties (opens in a new tab) (median value of owner-occupied homes, 2020-2024)
- FTC, Government Grant Scams (opens in a new tab)
Frequently Asked Questions
Are there first-time home buyer grants in Alabama?
Only a small one from the state. AHFA's Affordable Income Subsidy Grant gives 1% of the loan amount to buyers at or below 50% of area median income, or 0.5% to buyers between 50.01% and 80%, but only on Freddie Mac HFA Advantage conventional loans. AHFA's main down payment help, up to $10,000, is a 10-year second mortgage you pay back each month.
How much down payment assistance does AHFA give in 2026?
Both Step Up and First Step offer down payment assistance of 4% of the sales price, up to $10,000, whichever is lower. The money is secured by a 10-year second mortgage combined with a 30-year fixed-rate first mortgage, and both are paid in one monthly payment to ServiSolutions, AHFA's servicing division.
What is the income limit for AHFA Step Up?
Step Up allows qualifying income of $172,800 or less, regardless of household size or where you buy in Alabama. First Step uses lower area limits effective June 24, 2026, for example $104,100 for 1 to 2 people in non-target parts of the Birmingham-Hoover area and $89,500 in most rural and smaller-metro counties.
What credit score do I need for an AHFA loan?
AHFA requires a credit score of 640 or higher and a debt-to-income ratio of 45% or lower for both Step Up and First Step, and for the Affordable Income Subsidy Grant.
Do I have to be a first-time buyer in Alabama?
Not for Step Up, which is open to moderate-income buyers without a first-time rule on AHFA's eligibility page. For First Step, you must not have owned a home in the previous 3 years if you're buying in a non-target area; in target areas, repeat buyers qualify.
Which is better, First Step or Step Up?
If you fit First Step's income limit, it's usually cheaper. AHFA's posted rates on November 3, 2026 were 6.500% for First Step FHA, VA and USDA loans versus 7.250% for Step Up, with the same 4% or $10,000 down payment help on both.
Do Alabama cities offer down payment help?
Some do. Huntsville's Homeownership Assistance Program offers up to $24,999 or 10% of the price as a 5-year deferred loan forgiven 20% a year, and Mobile's First Time Home Buyers' Program offers up to $15,000, forgiven after 5 years in the home. Both are for income-eligible buyers inside city limits.
Last updated November 3, 2026. Published by Grantsights from public sources. See our editorial policy, how we build and check guides, corrections and how we make money.
Related Guides
Alaska First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
AHFC's 2026 first-time loans start at 6.5%, with 3% down and rate cuts up to 1% for lower incomes and veterans. Limits by borough and partner help.
Arizona First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
Arizona's HOME Plus gives up to 4% as a loan forgiven after 5 years, not a grant. 2026 income caps, Maricopa and Pima options, Phoenix and Tucson help.
Arkansas First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
ADFA's down payment help is a repayable 10-year loan of up to $15,000, not a grant. 2026 county income limits, plus Little Rock and Jonesboro programs.
California First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
CalHFA's MyHome covers up to 3.5% of the price and Dream For All up to $150,000. 2026 county income limits, LA and San Diego help, and what you repay.
Colorado First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
CHFA's 2026 help: a 3% grant you don't repay, a 4% deferred loan, $25,000 for first-generation buyers, plus metroDPA, Boulder H2O and county limits.
Connecticut First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
CHFA's Time To Own gives up to $25,000 as a forgivable loan, not a grant. 2026 CT income and price limits, plus Hartford, New Haven and Bridgeport help.