Skip to content

Georgia First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026

By GrantsightsUpdated 16 official sourcesHow we checkCorrections

Quick Answer: Georgia's statewide help is the Georgia Dream program from the Department of Community Affairs (DCA): up to $10,000 (5% of the price, whichever is less) for most buyers, or up to $12,500 (6%) for public protectors, educators, nurses, healthcare workers…

Full answer and how we checked it

Georgia's statewide help is the Georgia Dream program from the Department of Community Affairs (DCA): up to $10,000 (5% of the price, whichever is less) for most buyers, or up to $12,500 (6%) for public protectors, educators, nurses, healthcare workers, active military and households with a family member living with a disability, under terms effective July 8, 2026. It's a 0% second mortgage, not a grant, repaid when you sell, refinance or transfer title. The best local deal in this guide is Invest Atlanta's ATL HomeNOW, up to $20,000, forgiven after 10 years for buyers inside Atlanta city limits, but it can't be combined with Georgia Dream. For how Georgia compares nationally, see our national first-time home buyer grants guide.

This guide is for: first-time buyers in Georgia who searched for a "Georgia first-time home buyer grant" and want to know what the state, Atlanta and Savannah actually offer in 2026, and what has to be paid back.

Data note: Grantsights checked DCA's Georgia Dream page (opens in a new tab), its Georgia Dream Mortgage Products overview (opens in a new tab), the Peach Plus, Peach Advantage and Peach Select VA pages, the Steps to Obtain Homeownership page (opens in a new tab), the lender FAQ and current rate page against Invest Atlanta's homebuyer program and FAQ pages, the City of Savannah's DreamMaker page, IRS Form 8828 instructions and U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts on November 3, 2026. Median home values are 2020-2024 American Community Survey figures, which run below today's sale prices.

In this guide (10 sections)

Georgia Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)

Georgia buyers have 4 Georgia Dream products and 5 local programs in this guide, and none of them is an outright grant. Two of the Atlanta programs come closest, because they're forgiven if you stay long enough.

Georgia programRun byTypeAmountRepayment termsFirst-time buyer ruleCredit minimumFunding status (as stated by agency)
Georgia Dream (Standard)DCADeferred loan, 0%, non-forgivable5% of price or $10,000, whichever is lessNo monthly payment; repaid on sale, refinance or title transferNo primary-home ownership in 3 years, unless buying in certain areas640DCA doesn't post a funding status; ask a participating lender
Georgia Dream PEN or ChoiceDCADeferred loan, 0%, non-forgivable6% of price or $12,500, whichever is lessSame as StandardSame as Standard640Not posted
Peach PlusDCADeferred loan, 0%3.5% of price or $10,000 (4% or $12,500 for PEN and Choice)No monthly payment; DCA's Peach Plus page doesn't state repayment terms, so treat it as repayable on sale or refinanceFirst-time and repeat buyers640Not posted
Peach AdvantageDCA with Lakeview Loan ServicingDeferred loan, 0%, non-forgivable2% to 5% of the first loan amountRepaid on sale or refinanceFirst-time and repeat buyers640 (660 for manufactured homes)Not posted
Peach Select VADCAFirst mortgage only (veterans)No DPA from DCARegular paymentsFirst-time and repeat buyers640Not posted
ATL HomeNOWInvest AtlantaForgivable loanUp to $20,000Forgiven after 10 years as your primary residenceCan't own interest in any other property620Listed as available; funding level not stated
Beltline Mortgage AssistanceInvest Atlanta and Atlanta Beltline, Inc.Forgivable "soft second" loan, 0%Up to $30,000 (civil servants, legacy residents) or $20,00015-year affordability periodCan't own interest in any other property620Listed as available; funding level not stated
ATL Home Renovation AdvantageInvest AtlantaForgivable loan$10,000Forgiven after 5 yearsCan't own interest in any other propertySet by lenderListed as available
Savannah DreamMakerCity of SavannahDeferred loan, 2% interestUp to $30,000 ($50,000 on city-partner housing)30-year deferred paymentFirst home (program goal)Not published"Ongoing, year-round, providing funds remain available"

Sources: DCA Georgia Dream and Peach program pages (program terms effective July 8, 2026), DCA lender FAQ and Steps to Obtain Homeownership page; Invest Atlanta Homebuyer Programs and Downpayment Assistance page and FAQ; City of Savannah DreamMaker page. All checked November 3, 2026.

The honest answer: Georgia Dream is a useful cash bridge, but it's a lien that stays with the house until you sell or refinance. If you're buying inside Atlanta and plan to stay a decade, the city's forgivable loan is the better deal.

Get grant deadline alerts by email

About once a week, we email a short list of open grant calls with real deadlines from different funders. It isn't limited to the programs in this guide.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Georgia Dream Income and Price Limits by Area (July 8, 2026)

DCA uses 3 limit areas, not 159 county tables: the 24-county Atlanta HUD metro, the 5-county Athens area, and everyone else. According to DCA's Georgia Dream page, these limits took effect July 8, 2026. Peach Plus has much higher limits for buyers who earn too much for the main program.

Area (counties)Largest counties in the areaGeorgia Dream price limitGeorgia Dream income, 1-2 peopleGeorgia Dream income, 3+ peoplePeach Plus price limitPeach Plus income, 1-2 / 3+
Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell HUD metro (24 counties)Fulton, Gwinnett, Cobb, DeKalb, Clayton, Henry$625,000$137,555$158,188$725,000$206,333 / $237,282
Athens MSA (Clarke, Madison, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Morgan)Clarke$525,000$118,152$135,875$650,000$177,228 / $203,813
All other Georgia countiesChatham (Savannah), Richmond (Augusta), Muscogee (Columbus), Bibb (Macon)$475,000$101,700$116,955$575,000$152,550 / $175,433

Sources: DCA Georgia Dream page (opens in a new tab) and Peach Plus page (opens in a new tab), effective July 8, 2026. The Atlanta metro area also includes Barrow, Bartow, Carroll, Cherokee, Coweta, Dawson, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Heard, Jasper, Newton, Paulding, Pickens, Pike, Rockdale, Spalding and Walton counties. Peach Advantage uses up to 150% of area median income from the Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac lookup tools instead of a fixed table.

Two practical notes. First, these are household income limits, and DCA checks 3 years of tax transcripts partly to confirm you haven't claimed mortgage interest recently. Second, there's an asset cap that catches savers off guard: after closing you can't hold more than $20,000 or 20% of the price in liquid assets, whichever is greater, and DCA counts gifts above $5,000 toward that cap.

How Far $10,000 Goes in Georgia's Biggest Counties

Measured against Census Bureau QuickFacts median home values (2020-2024 ACS), Grantsights analysis finds the standard Georgia Dream loan covers 3.3% of Georgia's $303,300 median home value, which is $616 short of the 3.5% FHA minimum down payment. The 5% cap matters only on cheaper homes: below $200,000, the loan shrinks to 5% of the price.

CountyMedian value of owner-occupied homesGeorgia Dream Standard amountShare of median3.5% FHA down paymentLeft for closing costs (or short)
Georgia (statewide)$303,300$10,0003.3%$10,616$616 short
Fulton$458,800$10,0002.2%$16,058$6,058 short
Gwinnett$380,900$10,0002.6%$13,332$3,332 short
Cobb$407,200$10,0002.5%$14,252$4,252 short
DeKalb$357,800$10,0002.8%$12,523$2,523 short
Clayton$222,300$10,0004.5%$7,781$2,219 left
Chatham$302,700$10,0003.3%$10,595$595 short
Richmond$178,500$8,925 (5% cap)5.0%$6,248$2,677 left
Muscogee$193,900$9,695 (5% cap)5.0%$6,787$2,908 left

Calculation: Georgia Dream Standard is the lesser of 5% of price or $10,000; FHA minimum down payment of 3.5% from HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab). Medians are Census Bureau QuickFacts 2020-2024 ACS values for each Georgia county.

What this means: in Clayton, Augusta and Columbus, Georgia Dream alone covers the FHA down payment with money left for closing costs. In Fulton and Cobb, a buyer at the median still needs $4,000 to $6,000 more just for the down payment, so the PEN amount ($12,500) or a city program makes a real difference.

Local Help in Atlanta and Savannah

The 2 biggest local programs Grantsights could verify on official pages are in Atlanta and Savannah, and they work in opposite ways: Atlanta's loans are forgiven, while Savannah's charges 2% interest.

Atlanta: Invest Atlanta's 4 incentives

Invest Atlanta, the city's development authority, runs every option on its Homebuyer Programs and Downpayment Assistance page (opens in a new tab). The rules that apply to all of them: you contribute at least $1,500 of your own money, you can't own an interest in any other property, the home can't be manufactured, and you attend a mandatory 90-minute Q&A session plus a homebuyer education class with a participating educator.

  • ATL HomeNOW: up to $20,000 for down payment, closing costs or a permanent rate buy-down, forgiven after 10 years as your primary residence. Minimum credit score 620, liquid assets no higher than $35,000, maximum first loan $325,000 and no purchase price cap. Income limits (120% of area median): $99,000 for 1 person, $113,160 for 2, $127,320 for 3, $141,360 for 4 and $152,760 for 5.
  • Beltline Mortgage Assistance: up to $30,000 for civil servants and legacy residents, or $20,000 for other buyers, inside Beltline Tax Allocation District subareas 1, 2, 3, 8, 9 and 10. It's a 0% soft second mortgage with a 15-year affordability period, a $400,000 maximum loan and income limits up to 140% of median ($132,020 for 2 people).
  • ATL Home Renovation Advantage: $10,000 for buyers using a renovation mortgage, forgiven after 5 years. It carries a $1,200 program fee for the required renovation class and a $450,000 price cap.
  • Perry Bolton: $20,000 for buyers at or below 80% of median buying a permanently affordable home, or $10,000 up to 120%, forgiven after 5 years, in the Perry Bolton district only, with a $300,000 price cap and a $1,000 program fee.

The catch: Invest Atlanta's FAQ (opens in a new tab) says its incentives "cannot be used with NACA, Georgia Dream, DeKalb County or Fulton County down payment assistance programs." You pick one route.

Savannah: DreamMaker, up to $30,000 at 2%

The City of Savannah's DreamMaker page (opens in a new tab) offers up to $30,000 as a 2% interest, 30-year deferred payment loan for most homes inside city limits, or up to $50,000 on housing developed in partnership with the city. You must qualify for a bank or mortgage company first loan whose terms meet program rules, and household income limits apply, though the page doesn't list them. Applications are taken year-round "providing funds remain available." Because it accrues interest, a $30,000 DreamMaker loan will cost more to pay off later than an interest-free Georgia Dream loan of the same size.

Augusta, Columbus and Macon

Grantsights didn't verify a current city down payment program for Augusta, Columbus or Macon for this guide. Buyers there still get the most out of Georgia Dream on its own, since the 5% cap covers the full FHA down payment on a median-priced home in Richmond and Muscogee counties.

FHA, VA and USDA Loans in Georgia

Georgia Dream sits on top of 4 loan types: FHA, VA, USDA and conventional. DCA's loans are 30-year fixed-rate mortgages, and the participating lender gives the credit approval under the federal program's rules.

  • FHA (the most common pairing in Georgia): the minimum down payment is 3.5%, per HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab), and DCA's 640 score floor applies on top.
  • VA: no down payment if the price doesn't exceed the appraised value, per the VA purchase loan page (opens in a new tab). DCA's Peach Select VA loan had a 5.750% rate on October 22, 2026, a full point under the regular Georgia Dream rate, but it can't be paired with Georgia Dream's own second mortgage.
  • USDA: zero-down loans for eligible rural addresses, which covers much of Georgia outside the metros. Check the address on USDA's eligibility map, and see our USDA housing grants guide for direct loans and repair help.

The national first-time home buyer guide compares these loan types in more detail.

What DCA Doesn't Tell You on the Georgia Dream Pages

Grantsights compared DCA's program pages, its homebuyer steps page and its lender FAQ and found 5 things a buyer should know before signing.

  1. "Non-forgivable" appears on just one page. The main Georgia Dream page calls the money "Down Payment Loan Options." Only the Steps to Obtain Homeownership page spells out that it's "a non-forgivable mortgage, not a grant" that must be repaid if you sell, refinance or transfer title.
  2. The DPA costs you on the rate. DCA's posted rates for October 22, 2026 were 6.750% for Georgia Dream and 7.250% for Peach Plus, while Peach Select VA, which carries no DPA, was 5.750%. On a $250,000 30-year loan, the half-point gap between Georgia Dream and Peach Plus is about $84 a month, so price out a market-rate loan without DPA too.
  3. The recapture tax is buried in the lender FAQ. DCA says its programs may have an IRS recapture tax for 9 years from closing. IRS Form 8828 instructions (opens in a new tab) cap the tax at 50% of your gain and phase it in and out over those 9 years based on your income when you sell. Many sellers owe nothing, but you should ask your lender for the recapture disclosure.
  4. The Peach Plus price limit isn't consistent. The Peach Plus page and the products overview list a $725,000 maximum price in the Atlanta metro, while DCA's lender FAQ still describes Peach Plus as "up to $625,000." If your price falls between those numbers, get the lender to confirm in writing.
  5. There's a cash ceiling. Liquid assets after closing can't exceed $20,000 or 20% of the price, whichever is greater. On a $250,000 home, that line is $50,000, so a buyer who keeps $60,000 in the bank after closing would be over it.

Common Mistakes and Red Flags for Georgia Buyers

The most expensive Georgia errors are 4 choices made before the contract, not after.

  • Calling it a grant. A common mistake is treating the $10,000 as free money. If you refinance in year 3 to grab a lower rate, the Georgia Dream second mortgage comes due at that closing.
  • Stacking Georgia Dream with Invest Atlanta. You can't. Decide early, because the two programs use different lender lists and education requirements.
  • Underestimating the cash you need in metro Atlanta. In Fulton, Gwinnett and Cobb, the standard loan doesn't cover even the down payment on a median home, and closing costs come on top.
  • Paying for "grant access." A red flag is any ad, caller or seminar promising a Georgia home buyer grant for a fee. The FTC's government grant scams page (opens in a new tab) warns not to pay for grant lists or up-front fees, and says the government won't contact you out of the blue about grants. Georgia Dream money only comes through a DCA participating lender.

How to Apply for Georgia Dream, Step by Step

DCA lays out 7 stages from budget to closing, and the order matters because your rate lock and education certificate both have clocks.

  1. Check your score and limits. You need a 640 credit score and household income under your area's limit in the table above.
  2. Take homebuyer education. DCA requires a course from a HUD-approved housing counseling agency, online or in person, and the certificate must be within 12 months of closing.
  3. Get pre-approved by a participating lender. Use DCA's lender list or call 800-359-4663. Bring 2 years of W-2s, 60 days of bank statements and expect the lender to pull 3 years of tax transcripts.
  4. Have your own money ready. Georgia Dream products require a minimum investment of $500 to $1,000 depending on the product, and DCA allows it to come from an acceptable gift.
  5. Sign a contract under the price limit. Stay under $625,000 in the Atlanta metro, $525,000 in the Athens area or $475,000 elsewhere.
  6. Lock your rate. DCA's rate lock is generally 75 calendar days, and you have to close by that date or the contract date, whichever comes first.
  7. Close and keep your papers. The DPA goes straight to the closing table. Keep the second mortgage documents for the day you sell or refinance.

For example, a couple in Clayton County earning $85,000 and buying a $220,000 home with an FHA-backed Georgia Dream loan would need a $7,700 down payment (3.5%). They're well under the $137,555 Atlanta-metro limit. Five percent of the price is $11,000, so the Standard loan is specifically capped at $10,000: enough for the down payment plus $2,300 toward closing costs, after the couple puts in their own $1,000. If one of them is a nurse or teacher, the PEN option raises the help to $12,500 (6% would be $13,200, capped at $12,500). Either way, the full amount is repaid from the sale proceeds when they move.

A single buyer in the City of Atlanta faces a different choice. On a $300,000 condo with income of $70,000, she's under ATL HomeNOW's $99,000 limit and could get up to $20,000, which covers the $10,500 FHA down payment with room for closing costs or a rate buy-down. That loan is forgiven after 10 years. Georgia Dream's PEN option would be $12,500 and is always repaid. For a buyer who plans to stay 10 years, ATL HomeNOW is the best bet; for one who expects to move within a few years, the two are closer than they look, because both get settled at the sale.

If Georgia Dream Money Runs Out or You're Turned Down

DCA funds Georgia Dream through bond sales, according to its lender FAQ, and it doesn't post a funding status on its program pages, so a participating lender is the only reliable check on availability.

  • If you're over the Georgia Dream income limit: look at Peach Plus, which allows up to $206,333 for 1 to 2 people in the Atlanta metro, or Peach Advantage at up to 150% of area median income.
  • If a local program pauses: Savannah's DreamMaker runs "providing funds remain available," and Invest Atlanta incentives depend on the city's allocations. Georgia Dream is the statewide fallback, except inside Atlanta if you've already started with Invest Atlanta.
  • If your credit is under 640: a HUD-approved counselor can help you build a plan, and our guide on how to apply for grants as an individual explains how to tell real help from offers to skip.
  • If you're not ready to buy this year: the rental assistance programs guide and HUD income limits guide help while you save, and the home repair grants guide is there once you own.

Many city and county programs across Georgia are paid for with federal HOME money, and the HUD HOME program guide explains how to find them.

If you'd like a quick check of which official programs fit your situation, the free eligibility checker points you to official routes. It won't hand you a grant, and it won't file anything for you.

Buying near a state line? Compare the Tennessee, Alabama and Florida guides.

Sources

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a first-time home buyer grant in Georgia?

Not from the state. The Georgia Dream down payment help is a 0% interest second mortgage with no monthly payment, and DCA's own homebuyer steps page calls it a non-forgivable mortgage, not a grant. It's repaid when you sell, refinance or transfer title. The closest thing to grant-like help is local: Invest Atlanta's ATL HomeNOW loan of up to $20,000 is forgiven after 10 years in the home.

How much is Georgia Dream down payment assistance in 2026?

Effective July 8, 2026, the Standard option is 5% of the purchase price or $10,000, whichever is less. Protectors, Educators and Nurses (PEN) buyers, and households with a family member living with a disability (Choice), get 6% of the price or $12,500, whichever is less. The money can go toward the down payment and closing costs.

What are the Georgia Dream income limits for 2026?

In the 24-county Atlanta HUD metro, the limits are $137,555 for 1 to 2 people and $158,188 for 3 or more, with a $625,000 price cap. The Athens area is $118,152 and $135,875 with a $525,000 cap. Every other county is $101,700 and $116,955 with a $475,000 cap.

What credit score do I need for Georgia Dream?

DCA requires a 640 minimum credit score on all its loan programs when the loan goes through automated underwriting, and 660 for Peach Advantage on a manufactured home. Borrowers with no credit score at all can sometimes be manually underwritten on FHA, VA and USDA loans under those agencies' rules.

Can I use Georgia Dream and Invest Atlanta together?

No. Invest Atlanta's FAQ says its incentives can't be used with NACA, Georgia Dream, DeKalb County or Fulton County down payment assistance. If you're buying inside Atlanta city limits, compare the two and pick one.

Do I have to be a first-time buyer for Georgia Dream?

For the main Georgia Dream loan, yes, though DCA counts anyone who hasn't had an ownership interest in a primary residence in the past 3 years, and buyers in certain areas are exempt. Peach Plus, Peach Advantage and Peach Select VA are open to first-time and repeat buyers.

Is there a recapture tax on Georgia Dream loans?

It can apply. DCA's lender FAQ says its programs may carry an IRS recapture tax for 9 years from closing. IRS Form 8828 ties the amount to your income in the year you sell and to whether you sold at a gain, and caps it at 50% of the gain, so many sellers owe nothing.

Last updated November 3, 2026. Published by Grantsights from public sources. See our editorial policy, how we build and check guides, corrections and how we make money.