Tennessee First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
Quick Answer: Tennessee's main help is the THDA Great Choice Home Loan (640 minimum credit score, $500,000 price limit statewide) with Great Choice Plus down payment assistance.
Full answer and how we checked it
The deferred option gives up to $6,000 or up to $10,000 at 0% interest, forgiven after 10 years, but due in full if you sell or refinance sooner. The amortizing option gives up to 5% of the price, capped at $15,000, as a 30-year loan with monthly payments. Neither is a grant on day one. Limits in this guide are from THDA's chart dated August 1, 2026. Chattanooga adds up to $15,000, forgiven after 30 years. Our national first-time home buyer grants guide shows how Tennessee stacks up.
This guide is for: people buying their first home in Tennessee who searched for "Tennessee first time home buyer grants" and want plain answers on THDA help, county limits and what the big cities add.
Data note: Grantsights checked THDA's Great Choice Home Loan page (opens in a new tab), Down Payment Assistance page (opens in a new tab), repeat buyer, targeted area, advantages and homebuyer education pages, and its acquisition cost and income limits chart dated 08.01.2026 against the City of Chattanooga's program page and guidelines (revised May 8, 2026), The Housing Fund's 2026 Nashville flyer, IRS Form 8828 instructions and U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts on November 3, 2026. THDA is a state agency that publishes on thda.org.
In this guide (10 sections)
- Tennessee Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)
- THDA Income and Acquisition Cost Limits by County (August 1, 2026)
- What THDA Help Covers in Tennessee's Biggest Counties
- City and Nonprofit Help in Chattanooga, Nashville, Memphis and Knoxville
- FHA, VA and USDA Loans in Tennessee
- What THDA Doesn't Tell You on Its Program Pages
- Common Mistakes and Red Flags for Tennessee Buyers
- How to Apply for THDA Help, Step by Step
- If THDA Help Isn't Available or You're Denied
- Sources
Tennessee Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)
Tennessee buyers can choose from 3 Great Choice Plus options and 2 local programs in this guide. The THDA deferred option and Chattanooga's loan can both disappear entirely if you stay put; the others are repaid.
| Tennessee program | Run by | Type | Amount | Repayment terms | First-time buyer rule | Credit minimum | Funding status (as stated by agency) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Great Choice Home Loan | THDA | First mortgage (FHA, VA, USDA or conventional through a lender) | Up to the $500,000 acquisition limit | 30-year fixed, monthly payments | No owned home in 3 years, except targeted areas and qualified veterans | 640 | THDA doesn't post a funding status; ask a THDA lender |
| Great Choice Plus, deferred | THDA | Forgivable loan, 0% | Up to $6,000 or up to $10,000 | No payments; forgiven at end of 10 years; due in full on sale or refinance before then | Same as Great Choice | 640 | Not posted |
| Great Choice Plus, amortizing | THDA | Repayable loan | Up to 5% of price, $15,000 maximum | 30-year term at the first mortgage's rate | Same as Great Choice | 640 | Not posted |
| Great Choice Plus, new construction | THDA | Repayable loan, 0% | Up to $25,000 | 15-year term, monthly payments | Same as Great Choice | 640 | Not posted |
| Homeownership for Heroes | THDA | Rate reduction on Great Choice | Up to a 1/2% lower interest rate | Regular payments | Waived for qualified military and veterans | 640 | Not posted |
| Chattanooga Down Payment Assistance | City of Chattanooga | Forgivable loan, 0% | Up to $15,000 (up to $21,000 with THDA) | Forgiven at end of 30 years; due on sale or cash-out refinance | No home owned in 3 years | 620 | Program page live; guidelines say assistance depends on funds |
| The Housing Fund DPA (Nashville area) | The Housing Fund (nonprofit lender) | Repayable loan, 5% fixed | $5,000 to $35,000 | 120- or 180-month term | Not stated | 600 up to $10,000; 620 above | 2026 flyer posted; funding not stated |
Sources: THDA program pages and acquisition cost and income limits (08.01.2026); City of Chattanooga program page and guidelines (revised 05.08.2026); The Housing Fund, Nashville 2026 DPA flyer. All checked November 3, 2026.
The honest summary: if you expect to stay at least 10 years, the deferred THDA option is close to a grant. If you might move in 4 or 5 years, it behaves like an interest-free loan you'll repay at the sale, and the amortizing option adds a second monthly payment from day one.
Get grant deadline alerts by email
About once a week, we email a short list of open grant calls with real deadlines from different funders. It isn't limited to the programs in this guide.
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
THDA Income and Acquisition Cost Limits by County (August 1, 2026)
THDA sets one $500,000 acquisition cost limit in all 95 counties and income limits that vary by county and household size. According to THDA's limits chart dated August 1, 2026, Davidson County's limit is $139,320 for 1 to 2 people, and the same table applies to Great Choice and to the Freddie Mac HFA Advantage product (for HFA Advantage, the 3+ person figure is the cap regardless of household size).
| County (most populous first) | Targeted status | Income limit, 1-2 people | Income limit, 3+ people | Acquisition cost limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shelby (Memphis) | Some tracts targeted | $102,794 | $118,214 | $500,000 |
| Davidson (Nashville) | Some tracts targeted | $139,320 | $162,540 | $500,000 |
| Knox (Knoxville) | Some tracts targeted | $103,700 | $119,255 | $500,000 |
| Hamilton (Chattanooga) | Some tracts targeted | $101,854 | $117,133 | $500,000 |
| Rutherford (Murfreesboro) | Some tracts targeted | $139,320 | $162,540 | $500,000 |
| Williamson (Franklin) | Not targeted | $139,320 | $162,540 | $500,000 |
| Montgomery (Clarksville) | Some tracts targeted | $102,574 | $117,961 | $500,000 |
| Sumner (Gallatin) | Not targeted | $139,320 | $162,540 | $500,000 |
| Wilson (Lebanon) | Not targeted | $139,320 | $162,540 | $500,000 |
| Targeted rural counties (for example Cocke, Gibson, Tipton) | Whole county targeted | $113,880 | $132,860 | $500,000 |
Source: THDA, "Great Choice and HFA Advantage Mortgage Loan Programs, Acquisition Cost and Income Limits by County," dated 08.01.2026, linked from the Great Choice page (opens in a new tab). Counties are listed by the Census Bureau's July 1, 2025 Tennessee population estimates. In targeted areas, the first-time buyer rule is waived.
Look at the Nashville-area numbers. A household of 3 in Davidson or Rutherford County can earn up to $162,540 and still qualify, so most middle-income Tennessee families fall under the limit. The binding constraint in Middle Tennessee is usually the price, not the income.
What THDA Help Covers in Tennessee's Biggest Counties
Set against Census Bureau QuickFacts median home values (2020-2024 ACS), Grantsights analysis shows the $6,000 deferred option covers just 2.1% of Tennessee's $286,700 median value, which leaves a buyer $4,035 short of a 3.5% FHA down payment. The amortizing option covers the down payment in every county below, but it's the one you pay back monthly.
| County | Median value of owner-occupied homes | $6,000 deferred: share of median | 3.5% FHA down payment | Gap with $6,000 deferred | Amortizing option (5%, max $15,000) | Left after down payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tennessee (statewide) | $286,700 | 2.1% | $10,035 | $4,035 short | $14,335 | $4,300 |
| Shelby | $249,100 | 2.4% | $8,719 | $2,719 short | $12,455 | $3,736 |
| Davidson | $417,400 | 1.4% | $14,609 | $8,609 short | $15,000 | $391 |
| Knox | $320,900 | 1.9% | $11,232 | $5,232 short | $15,000 | $3,768 |
| Hamilton | $312,800 | 1.9% | $10,948 | $4,948 short | $15,000 | $4,052 |
| Rutherford | $382,600 | 1.6% | $13,391 | $7,391 short | $15,000 | $1,609 |
| Montgomery | $280,200 | 2.1% | $9,807 | $3,807 short | $14,010 | $4,203 |
| Williamson | $751,900 | Over the $500,000 limit | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
Calculation: amounts from THDA's Down Payment Assistance page; FHA minimum down payment of 3.5% from HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab). Medians come from Census Bureau QuickFacts (2020-2024 ACS) for each Tennessee county. If you qualify for the $10,000 deferred amount, subtract $4,000 from each gap.
Two takeaways. In Williamson County, the median home is worth $751,900, so a typical home there is out of THDA's reach entirely. And in Davidson and Rutherford, the deferred option covers well under half of an FHA down payment, which is why Nashville-area buyers lean on the amortizing option or outside help.
City and Nonprofit Help in Chattanooga, Nashville, Memphis and Knoxville
Tennessee's 4 largest cities offer very different levels of help, and Grantsights could confirm current terms on an official page for only one of them.
Chattanooga: up to $15,000, forgiven after 30 years
According to the City of Chattanooga's down payment assistance page (opens in a new tab), the city offers up to $15,000 as a 0% deferred loan with no monthly payments. Through a partnership with THDA, eligible buyers may get up to $21,000 in total. The city's guidelines (revised May 8, 2026) say the full balance is forgiven at the end of a 30-year term, isn't prorated, and is due on a sale or a cash-out refinance; a rate-and-term refinance won't trigger repayment. The rules:
- No home owned in the past 3 years, and a home inside city limits priced at $400,000 or less.
- Household income at or below 120% of area median. FY2026 limits, effective June 1, 2026: $81,800 for 1 person, $93,500 for 2, $105,200 for 3, $116,900 for 4.
- At least $1,000 of your own money, a 620 minimum credit score and a homebuyer education course from a THDA-approved provider before closing.
- Funds only cover the verified gap between your resources and the cash needed to close, so not everyone gets $15,000.
Nashville: a nonprofit loan, not a city grant
The Housing Fund, a Nashville nonprofit lender, posts a 2026 down payment assistance flyer (opens in a new tab) offering $5,000 to $35,000 at a 5% fixed rate over 120 or 180 months, for buyers up to 120% of Nashville's area median income. Loans up to $10,000 need a 600 score, larger ones 620, and you need an FHA-approved first lender and THDA-approved education. It's real help, but it's a repayable loan with interest, so compare the monthly cost against THDA's amortizing option before choosing.
Memphis and Knoxville
The City of Memphis down payment assistance page returned a server error when Grantsights checked it on November 3, 2026, so this guide doesn't quote an amount. The City of Knoxville's former downpayment assistance page now returns "page not found." If you're buying in either city, call the city's housing department directly and ask whether a program is funded this year before you count on it.
FHA, VA and USDA Loans in Tennessee
According to THDA's Great Choice page, most Great Choice loans are FHA or USDA-insured, and FHA buyers can borrow up to 96.5% of the price, which is why the 3.5% figure drives the math above.
- FHA-insured Great Choice loans: let you borrow up to 96.5% of the price, so you bring at least 3.5%, which is the FHA minimum according to HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab).
- VA loans: allow no down payment when the price doesn't exceed the appraised value, according to the VA purchase loan page (opens in a new tab). Veterans also skip THDA's first-time rule, and Homeownership for Heroes can cut the rate by up to half a point.
- USDA-RD loans: allow 100% financing on eligible rural addresses through the Great Choice program, per THDA. Our USDA housing grants guide covers USDA's direct loans and repair grants too.
For a side-by-side of the loan types, see the national guide.
What THDA Doesn't Tell You on Its Program Pages
Grantsights compared THDA's homebuyer pages with its limits chart and found 4 gaps worth knowing about.
- Who gets $10,000 instead of $6,000 isn't explained. The Down Payment Assistance page lists the deferred option as "up to $6,000 or up to $10,000" without saying which buyers get the higher amount. Ask your THDA lender which tier you're in before you write an offer.
- "Forgiven" has an early-exit catch. The deferred loan is forgiven at the end of 10 years, but THDA says it's due in full if you sell or refinance before then. A refinance in year 9 costs you the whole amount.
- The recapture tax isn't mentioned. THDA's targeted-areas page notes that Great Choice is funded by bond issues. According to IRS Form 8828 instructions (opens in a new tab), buyers with loans from tax-exempt bonds may owe a recapture tax if they sell within 9 years, capped at 50% of the gain and dependent on income in the year of sale. Ask your lender for the recapture notice at closing.
- The "new construction" option isn't free money either. The $25,000 option for newly built homes is 0% interest, but it's a 15-year amortizing loan with monthly payments, not a forgivable one. On $25,000, that's about $139 a month for 15 years.
Common Mistakes and Red Flags for Tennessee Buyers
Tennessee buyers run into 4 recurring problems, and most of them come from misreading which option they picked.
- Choosing the amortizing option without pricing the payment. It's a common mistake to take the bigger $15,000 because it's bigger. At the first mortgage's rate over 30 years, it adds a second payment for the life of the loan.
- Underestimating the price problem in Middle Tennessee. Williamson's median is above the $500,000 limit, and Davidson's is $417,400, so many listings won't qualify at all.
- Booking the class too late. THDA strongly encourages finishing education at least 4 weeks before closing, and online students must also complete a follow-up session with a counselor.
- Paying for "grant help." A red flag is anyone charging a fee to unlock a Tennessee home buyer grant. The FTC's government grant scams page (opens in a new tab) says not to pay up-front fees for grants and that the government won't contact you out of the blue. THDA help only comes through approved lenders.
How to Apply for THDA Help, Step by Step
Getting a Great Choice loan with Great Choice Plus takes 6 steps, and THDA treats education as step one, not a box to tick at the end.
- Take the homebuyer education course. It's required for THDA down payment assistance. Online it costs $100 ($30 through STEP IN), and THDA cites an independent study of its loans finding the course cut the odds of foreclosure by 42%.
- Check your county limits and score. Use the table above and confirm everyone on the application has at least a 640 score.
- Get pre-approved by a THDA lender. Ask which Great Choice Plus option you qualify for, and whether the $6,000 or $10,000 deferred tier applies.
- Add city help if you qualify. In Chattanooga, the lender requests the city's assistance and the funds go straight to the closing agent.
- Make an offer under $500,000 (and under $400,000 in Chattanooga if you're stacking the city loan).
- Close and file your papers. Keep the second-mortgage documents so you know your forgiveness date and payoff terms.
For example, a couple in Chattanooga earning $90,000 and buying a $280,000 home with an FHA-backed Great Choice loan would need a $9,800 down payment. They're under both THDA's $101,854 Hamilton County limit and the city's $93,500 limit for 2 people. THDA's deferred option could add $6,000 and the city up to $15,000, which the city says can reach $21,000 combined; specifically, the city's share is limited to the verified gap after the couple puts in their own $1,000. If they stay 10 years, the THDA money is forgiven; the city's loan is forgiven after 30 years, or comes due if they sell first.
A buyer in Murfreesboro on a $380,000 home faces a different trade-off. The $6,000 deferred loan leaves her about $7,300 short of a 3.5% FHA down payment, while the amortizing option covers it with $15,000 but adds a 30-year payment. If she can save the difference, the deferred option is the better deal; if not, the amortizing loan is worth it only if the extra payment fits her budget.
If THDA Help Isn't Available or You're Denied
THDA doesn't post a funding status on its homebuyer pages, so your THDA lender is the only reliable source on current availability. Chattanooga's guidelines say its assistance is subject to funds and can be changed or suspended.
- If you're over the income limit: check whether the address is in a targeted area. Targeted rural counties allow $113,880 for 1 to 2 people, more than Shelby or Knox.
- If you've owned before: you can still qualify in the 43 targeted counties, in targeted tracts in 15 more counties, or as a qualified veteran.
- If your score is under 640: THDA points you to an approved counselor. Our guide on how to apply for grants as an individual explains how to spot real help.
- If you need to wait: our rental assistance programs guide and HUD income limits guide cover options while you save, and the home repair grants guide covers help after you buy.
Local programs in Tennessee are often funded with HUD's HOME money; the HUD HOME program guide explains how to find one near you.
For a quick check of which official programs might fit, the free eligibility checker points you to official routes. It doesn't give out grants or apply for you.
If you're buying in a metro that crosses a state line, compare the Georgia and Alabama guides.
Sources
- THDA, Great Choice Home Loan (opens in a new tab) (checked November 3, 2026)
- THDA, Down Payment Assistance (Great Choice Plus) (opens in a new tab)
- THDA, Acquisition Cost and Income Limits by County (opens in a new tab) (dated 08.01.2026)
- THDA, Repeat Homebuyers (opens in a new tab) and Targeted Areas (opens in a new tab)
- THDA, Advantages of Great Choice Home Loans (opens in a new tab)
- THDA, Homebuyer Education (opens in a new tab) and STEP IN Program (opens in a new tab)
- City of Chattanooga, Down Payment Assistance Program (opens in a new tab) and Program Guidelines (opens in a new tab) (revised May 8, 2026; income limits effective June 1, 2026)
- The Housing Fund, Nashville 2026 Down Payment Assistance (opens in a new tab)
- City of Memphis, Down Payment Assistance Program (opens in a new tab) (page returned a server error on November 3, 2026)
- IRS, Instructions for Form 8828 (opens in a new tab)
- HUD, Loans (FHA) (opens in a new tab)
- VA, VA purchase loan (opens in a new tab)
- U.S. Census Bureau, QuickFacts: Tennessee and its largest counties (opens in a new tab) and Williamson, Montgomery, Sumner and Wilson counties (opens in a new tab) (median value of owner-occupied homes, 2020-2024; population estimates July 1, 2025)
- FTC, Government Grant Scams (opens in a new tab)
Frequently Asked Questions
Are there first-time home buyer grants in Tennessee?
Not as outright grants from the state. THDA's Great Choice Plus deferred option is the closest: up to $6,000 or up to $10,000 at 0% interest, forgiven at the end of a 10-year term. If you sell or refinance before year 10, the full amount is due. THDA's other option, up to $15,000, is a regular second mortgage with monthly payments.
How much down payment assistance does THDA give in 2026?
THDA lists three Great Choice Plus options: a deferred, forgivable loan of up to $6,000 or up to $10,000; an amortizing 30-year loan of up to 5% of the price with a $15,000 maximum at the first mortgage's rate; and a 15-year, 0% amortizing loan of up to $25,000 for newly built homes.
What are THDA's income limits for 2026?
They vary by county. In THDA's chart dated August 1, 2026, Davidson, Rutherford, Williamson, Sumner and Wilson counties allow $139,320 for 1 to 2 people and $162,540 for 3 or more. Shelby is $102,794 and $118,214, Knox is $103,700 and $119,255, and Hamilton is $101,854 and $117,133. The acquisition cost limit is $500,000 in every county.
What credit score do I need for a THDA loan?
THDA's Great Choice page says everyone on the loan application needs a credit score of at least 640. If you're below that, THDA points you to an approved counselor to work on your score.
Do I have to be a first-time buyer for THDA?
Usually. THDA's repeat buyer page says you qualify if you haven't lived in a home you own for at least 3 years, if you buy in one of 43 targeted counties or designated tracts in 15 more counties, or if you're a qualified veteran or military spouse.
Can I combine THDA help with Chattanooga's program?
Yes. The City of Chattanooga says eligible buyers can get up to $21,000 in total by combining its up to $15,000 loan with THDA programs. The city's money is a 0% deferred loan forgiven at the end of 30 years.
How much does THDA's homebuyer class cost?
THDA's online homebuyer education course is $100, or $30 for employees of employers in its STEP IN program, including State of Tennessee agencies. Online students also need a follow-up session with a counselor, and the certificate is valid for 12 months.
Last updated November 3, 2026. Published by Grantsights from public sources. See our editorial policy, how we build and check guides, corrections and how we make money.
Related Guides
Alabama First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
AHFA lends up to $10,000 (4% of price) as a 10-year second mortgage repaid monthly. 2026 income and price limits, a small closing grant and city help.
Alaska First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
AHFC's 2026 first-time loans start at 6.5%, with 3% down and rate cuts up to 1% for lower incomes and veterans. Limits by borough and partner help.
Arizona First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
Arizona's HOME Plus gives up to 4% as a loan forgiven after 5 years, not a grant. 2026 income caps, Maricopa and Pima options, Phoenix and Tucson help.
Arkansas First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
ADFA's down payment help is a repayable 10-year loan of up to $15,000, not a grant. 2026 county income limits, plus Little Rock and Jonesboro programs.
California First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
CalHFA's MyHome covers up to 3.5% of the price and Dream For All up to $150,000. 2026 county income limits, LA and San Diego help, and what you repay.
Colorado First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
CHFA's 2026 help: a 3% grant you don't repay, a 4% deferred loan, $25,000 for first-generation buyers, plus metroDPA, Boulder H2O and county limits.