Nebraska First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
Quick Answer: Nebraska's state help comes from the Nebraska Investment Finance Authority (NIFA).
Full answer and how we checked it
Its First Home loan gives first-time buyers a below-market rate, and its Homebuyer Assistance (HBA) option adds a second mortgage of up to 5% of the purchase price at 1% interest, repaid in monthly payments over 10 years. That's a real loan, not a grant, and it isn't forgiven. Welcome Home and Welcome Home Assistance offer the same structure to repeat buyers, with a $182,800 income limit. NIFA's income and price limits took effect July 13, 2026; the one-unit price cap is $398,000 outside target areas. Locally, Lincoln offers down payment help through NeighborWorks Lincoln, while Grantsights found no current City of Omaha program. For how Nebraska compares with other states, see our national first-time home buyer grants guide.
This guide is for: people buying their first home in Nebraska, and anyone who searched for Nebraska first-time home buyer programs and wants a straight answer on what the Nebraska Investment Finance Authority and the big cities offer in 2026.
Data note: Grantsights checked NIFA's Homebuyer Assistance page (opens in a new tab), First Home page (opens in a new tab), Welcome Home page (opens in a new tab), Programs and Eligibility page (opens in a new tab), NIFA's posted rates (last changed October 30, 2026), its income limits sheet (effective July 13, 2026), and the First Home (February 2, 2026) and Welcome Home lender manuals against the City of Lincoln's Home Ownership Programs page (opens in a new tab) on November 3, 2026. Home values for Nebraska counties below are 5-year ACS medians (2020-2024) published in Census QuickFacts; expect real 2026 listings to cost more.
In this guide (10 sections)
- Nebraska Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)
- NIFA Income and Purchase Price Limits by County (July 13, 2026)
- How Far NIFA's 5% Goes, and What It Costs Each Month
- Local Help in Omaha, Lincoln and Grand Island
- FHA, VA and USDA Loans Under NIFA
- What NIFA Doesn't Tell You on Its Program Pages
- Common Mistakes and Red Flags for Nebraska Buyers
- How to Apply for NIFA Help, Step by Step
- What to Do If You're Turned Down or Help Runs Short
- Sources
Nebraska Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)
NIFA runs 6 homebuyer loan products, and Nebraska's largest cities add one local program Grantsights could verify. None of them is a grant. Here's how they compare as of November 3, 2026, using NIFA's government-loan rates posted October 30, 2026.
| Nebraska program | Run by | Type | Amount | Repayment terms | First-time buyer rule | Credit minimum | Funding status (as stated by agency) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| First Home | NIFA | First mortgage (FHA, VA, USDA or conventional), 6.375% government rate | Up to $398,000 price ($485,500 in target areas) | Regular monthly payments | No owned-and-occupied home in 3 years; veterans and target-area buyers exempt | 640 | Rates posted Oct. 30, 2026; no pause posted |
| First Home Targeted | NIFA | First mortgage, 6.125% government rate | Up to $485,500 price | Regular monthly payments | Not required in target areas | 640 | No pause posted |
| Homebuyer Assistance (HBA) | NIFA | Repayable second loan, 1%, plus a 6.625% first mortgage | Up to 5% of the price | Monthly payments over 120 months; prepay anytime | Must meet first-time rule | 640 | No pause posted |
| Welcome Home | NIFA | First mortgage, 7.000% government rate | Up to $485,500 price | Regular monthly payments | First-time and repeat buyers | 640 | No pause posted |
| Welcome Home Assistance (WHA) | NIFA | Repayable second loan, 1%, plus a 7.250% first mortgage | Up to 5% of the price | Monthly payments over 120 months; never subordinated | First-time and repeat buyers | 640 | No pause posted |
| Military Home | NIFA | First mortgage, 6.125% government rate | Up to the program price limit | Regular monthly payments | Veterans exempt; active military must be first-time | 640 | No pause posted |
| First Time Home Buyer Program | NeighborWorks Lincoln (on City of Lincoln page) | Down payment and closing cost assistance (form not stated) | Varies by price and income | Not stated on city page | No home owned in 3 years | Not published | City page live; funding level not stated |
Sources: NIFA program pages, rates page (last changed October 30, 2026), lender manuals and income and price limits (effective July 13, 2026); City of Lincoln Home Ownership Programs page. All checked November 3, 2026. Rates change often; NIFA says they're subject to change without notice.
Here's what makes Nebraska different from most states: NIFA's assistance isn't deferred. HBA and WHA borrowers start paying on the second loan the same month they start paying the first mortgage, and NIFA's rates table shows the first mortgage costs 0.25% more with HBA than without it. You're borrowing your down payment, cheaply, and paying it back over 10 years.
Get grant deadline alerts by email
About once a week, we email a short list of open grant calls with real deadlines from different funders. It isn't limited to the programs in this guide.
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
NIFA Income and Purchase Price Limits by County (July 13, 2026)
NIFA publishes separate county limits for First Home and HBA, one statewide limit of $182,800 for Welcome Home, and a purchase price cap that depends on whether the home is in a federally targeted census tract. According to NIFA's Programs and Eligibility page, the price limits below took effect July 13, 2026, and the same date applies to the income limits sheet.
| County (most populous first) | Non-target, 1-2 people | Non-target, 3+ people | Target area, 1-2 people | Target area, 3+ people |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Douglas (Omaha) | $114,000 | $131,100 | $136,800 | $159,600 |
| Lancaster (Lincoln) | $107,500 | $123,625 | $129,000 | $150,500 |
| Sarpy (Bellevue, Papillion) | $114,000 | $131,100 | No target tracts | No target tracts |
| Hall (Grand Island) | $105,700 | $121,555 | No target tracts | No target tracts |
| Buffalo (Kearney) | $105,800 | $121,670 | No target tracts | No target tracts |
| Scotts Bluff (Scottsbluff) | $105,700 | $121,555 | $126,840 | $147,980 |
| Saunders | $118,200 | $135,930 | No target tracts | No target tracts |
| All other counties | $105,700 | $121,555 | n/a | n/a |
| Welcome Home and WHA (all counties) | $182,800 | $182,800 | n/a | n/a |
| Purchase price limit (effective July 13, 2026) | Non-target area | Target area |
|---|---|---|
| One unit | $398,000 | $485,500 |
| Two units | $497,500 | $607,000 |
Sources: NIFA, "Income and Purchase Price Limits," effective 7/13/2026, linked from the Programs and Eligibility page (opens in a new tab); Welcome Home figures from NIFA's Welcome Home page (opens in a new tab). Rows run from largest to smallest county by 2025 Census population estimates, with Saunders and Scotts Bluff added because they have distinct limits. Only Adams, Douglas, Jefferson, Lancaster, Saline and Scotts Bluff counties contain targeted tracts.
One quirk worth knowing: NIFA counts the income of every adult who'll live in the home and be a borrower, co-borrower or non-borrowing spouse, and it projects your current monthly income over 12 months. A recent raise counts in full, even if last year's tax return was lower.
How Far NIFA's 5% Goes, and What It Costs Each Month
Grantsights analysis of NIFA's HBA terms and U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts median home values (2020-2024 ACS) shows the 5% second loan covers FHA's 3.5% down payment with $3,300 to $4,700 left for closing costs in Nebraska's biggest counties, but it adds roughly $130 to $190 a month once you count both the second-loan payment and the higher first-mortgage rate.
| County | Median value of owner-occupied homes | HBA at 5% | Monthly HBA payment (1%, 120 months) | Extra first-mortgage cost (6.625% vs 6.375%) | 3.5% FHA down payment | Left for closing costs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nebraska (statewide) | $238,600 | $11,930 | $105 | $38 | $8,351 | $3,579 |
| Douglas | $266,100 | $13,305 | $117 | $42 | $9,314 | $3,991 |
| Lancaster | $275,200 | $13,760 | $121 | $44 | $9,632 | $4,128 |
| Sarpy | $314,100 | $15,705 | $138 | $50 | $10,994 | $4,711 |
| Hall | $224,600 | $11,230 | $98 | $36 | $7,861 | $3,369 |
| Buffalo | $246,400 | $12,320 | $108 | $39 | $8,624 | $3,696 |
Calculation: 5% of the median value; second-loan payment at 1% over 120 months per NIFA's lender manuals; extra first-mortgage cost compares a 30-year loan at 96.5% of the median at NIFA's posted HBA government rate (6.625%) and First Home government rate (6.375%) as of October 30, 2026. The 3.5% FHA down payment comes from HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab). Medians are 2020-2024 ACS values, below current prices; rates change often.
The takeaway: HBA solves the cash-at-closing problem, which is the hardest hurdle for most first-time buyers, but it isn't cheap money. On a median Douglas County home you'd pay about $159 a month for the help for the first 10 years. If you can save the down payment yourself, plain First Home costs less over time.
Local Help in Omaha, Lincoln and Grand Island
Nebraska's 3 largest cities offer much less local down payment money than cities in many other states, so NIFA does most of the work here.
Lincoln: NeighborWorks Lincoln down payment assistance
The City of Lincoln's Home Ownership Programs page (opens in a new tab) describes a First Time Home Buyer Program run by NeighborWorks Lincoln that helps with the down payment and closing costs. The city page says:
- The amount varies by family, based on the purchase price and household income, and buyers in certain neighborhoods get extra incentives.
- Household income can't exceed 80% of median income, and you can't have owned a home in the past 3 years (with some exceptions).
- The home must be inside Lincoln city limits and be your residence.
- The assistance can also cover limited repairs, usually structural work, to head off big maintenance bills in the first 3 years.
- You must complete NeighborWorks Lincoln's homebuyer course: 4 in-person sessions totaling 12 classroom hours, free to eligible first-time buyers, offered 12 times a year.
The city page doesn't give a dollar amount or say whether the help is a grant, deferred loan or forgivable loan. Ask NeighborWorks Lincoln for the terms in writing before you rely on it, and ask whether it can be paired with NIFA's HBA second loan.
Omaha: no current city program found
Grantsights didn't find a current down payment program on the City of Omaha's website as of November 3, 2026. Omaha buyers still get the highest standard NIFA limits in the state ($114,000 for 1 to 2 people in Douglas County), and buyers in Douglas County's targeted tracts can skip the first-time rule and qualify with up to $159,600 for 3 or more people. If you're also looking across the river in Council Bluffs, compare our Iowa first-time home buyer guide; Iowa's agency uses a deferred second loan that works very differently from NIFA's.
Grand Island and Kearney
Grantsights didn't find a city-run down payment program in Grand Island or Kearney as of November 3, 2026. Buyers in Hall and Buffalo counties rely on NIFA, USDA loans for eligible addresses, and local nonprofits such as Habitat for Humanity. Both counties use NIFA's standard limits (about $105,700 to $105,800 for 1 to 2 people).
FHA, VA and USDA Loans Under NIFA
NIFA's HBA page lists 4 loan types that can sit under its programs: conventional, FHA, USDA Rural Development and VA. It notes that conventional loans need no mortgage insurance with 20% down, which few first-time buyers have.
- FHA under NIFA: a 3.5% minimum down payment applies, according to HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab), and credit qualifying is easier than for most conventional loans. NIFA's 640 floor still applies.
- VA: the VA purchase loan page (opens in a new tab) says eligible veterans often need no down payment if the price doesn't top the appraised value. NIFA's Military Home program posted a 6.125% rate on October 30, 2026, tied for its lowest, and qualified veterans don't need to be first-time buyers.
- USDA guaranteed loans: Nebraska households earning up to 115% of area median income can use them on eligible rural properties, as USDA explains on its Single Family Housing Guaranteed Loan page (opens in a new tab). Most of Nebraska outside Omaha and Lincoln is rural, so check the address on USDA's map early.
For a fuller comparison of these loan types, the national guide goes deeper, and our USDA housing grants guide covers USDA's direct loans and repair grants in rural Nebraska.
What NIFA Doesn't Tell You on Its Program Pages
Grantsights compared NIFA's public program pages with its two lender manuals and its rates table and found 5 things a buyer should know that the homebuyer pages don't spell out.
- The second loan has monthly payments. The HBA page gives the 1% rate and 10-year term, but only the lender manuals say plainly that "monthly payments of principal and interest" start with the first mortgage. Lenders count that payment in your debt-to-income ratio, which can shrink how much house you qualify for.
- The assistance raises your first-mortgage rate. NIFA's own rates table shows HBA's first mortgage at 6.625% (government) against 6.375% for First Home on October 30, 2026, and Welcome Home Assistance at 7.250% against 7.000%. The help isn't just the 1% loan; it's the 1% loan plus a higher rate for 30 years, unless you refinance.
- NIFA pays your recapture tax. The First Home lender manual says recapture tax can apply if you sell within 9 years at a gain after your income rises above IRS limits, and IRS Form 8828 instructions cap it at 50% of the gain. The same manual says NIFA reimburses the actual recapture tax for First Home loans closed on or after June 1, 2004. That's a promise most state agencies don't make.
- Refinancing is possible without paying off HBA, once. The lender manuals describe a Refinance Home program that lets NIFA borrowers with a second loan refinance the first mortgage at a lower rate without repaying the second, and NIFA posted a 7.750% government rate for it on October 30, 2026. NIFA will subordinate an HBA second loan only for that product, and it won't subordinate a WHA loan at all.
- Your certificate expires. NIFA's homebuyer education page says the completion certificate is valid for 12 months, and closing must happen within that window. If your search drags on, you may need to retake the course.
One thing NIFA's pages do say clearly, and it's worth repeating: NIFA's First Home program has helped more than 95,000 Nebraskans buy a home, so most Nebraska lenders know the paperwork. Use NIFA's participating lender list rather than a lender who's never closed one.
Common Mistakes and Red Flags for Nebraska Buyers
Nebraska buyers run into 5 predictable problems, and most stem from assuming NIFA works like other states' programs.
- Treating HBA like deferred or forgivable help. A common mistake is assuming the 5% doesn't have to be repaid until you sell. It's due monthly from day one, and it adds to your housing payment.
- Underestimating the monthly cost. Buyers often underestimate how a 0.25% higher first-mortgage rate adds up. On a $257,000 loan it's about $42 a month, or roughly $15,000 over 30 years if you never refinance.
- Choosing HBA when you're not a first-time buyer. HBA requires NIFA's first-time rule. Repeat buyers need Welcome Home Assistance, which has a higher income limit but a higher first-mortgage rate.
- Waiting too long after the class. The education certificate is good for 12 months. Take it early, but not so early that it lapses before closing.
- Paying for grant "access." A red flag is anyone charging a fee to get you a Nebraska housing grant. The FTC's government grant scams page (opens in a new tab) says government agencies don't contact you demanding payment, and gift card or wire transfers are signs of fraud.
If repairs come up after you buy, our guide to home repair grants for low-income homeowners covers federal and local options.
How to Apply for NIFA Help, Step by Step
NIFA's process has 6 steps, and all of them run through a NIFA participating lender; NIFA doesn't take applications directly from buyers.
- Check your income and the address. Use the county table above, and NIFA's Geocoding/Mapping System to see whether the home is in a target area.
- Pick the program. First-time buyers who need cash for closing use HBA; those who don't use First Home. Repeat buyers use Welcome Home or WHA. Veterans should compare Military Home.
- Check your credit. You need 640, and a 660 score raises the allowed debt-to-income ratio from 45% to 50%.
- Take NIFA-approved homebuyer education before closing if you're a first-time buyer. NIFA lists online options like HomeView, CreditSmart and Framework, and Lincoln buyers using NeighborWorks must take its in-person course.
- Get pre-approved by a NIFA participating lender and ask for the rate with and without HBA so you can see the trade-off.
- Close and move in within 60 days, which NIFA requires. Keep your recapture tax notice; NIFA sends a final one within 90 days of closing, and you'll need it if you ever ask for reimbursement.
For example, a couple in Omaha (Douglas County) earning $96,000 and buying a $265,000 home with an FHA loan through HBA is under NIFA's $114,000 Douglas County limit and its $398,000 price cap. HBA could lend them up to $13,250 at 1%, enough for the $9,275 down payment (3.5%) and nearly $4,000 of closing costs. Their second-loan payment would be about $116 a month for 10 years, and their first mortgage would carry NIFA's HBA rate instead of the plain First Home rate. If they sell in year 6, they'd pay off what's left of the second loan at closing, and if recapture tax applied, NIFA's policy says it would reimburse it.
In western Nebraska, the math is gentler. A single buyer in Scottsbluff earning $55,000, well under the $105,700 limit, buying a $180,000 home would need about $6,300 down on an FHA loan; HBA's maximum of specifically $9,000 covers it, with a monthly second-loan payment of about $79.
What to Do If You're Turned Down or Help Runs Short
NIFA hasn't posted a funding pause for any of its 6 homebuyer products, so the usual problem in Nebraska isn't money running out; it's qualifying.
- If you're over the First Home limit: Welcome Home and WHA allow up to $182,800 for any household size, and target-area tracts in Douglas, Lancaster and four other counties raise the First Home limit by about 20%.
- If the HBA payment pushes your debt ratio too high: compare a smaller second loan, or First Home with savings or family gift money, and ask your lender to run both.
- If your credit is under 640: a HUD-approved counselor can help, and our guide on how to apply for grants as an individual explains how to avoid paying for "help" you don't need.
- If buying has to wait: our rental assistance programs guide and HUD income limits guide explain what's available while you save.
Local down payment programs like Lincoln's usually draw on federal HOME money; the HUD HOME program guide explains how that funding reaches cities and nonprofits. Buyers near the northern border can compare our South Dakota guide.
For a short, no-cost screen of which programs match your income and household, the free eligibility checker lists official routes to look at. Nobody gets a grant through it, and it doesn't send anything to NIFA.
Sources
- NIFA, Homebuyers and Renters (opens in a new tab) (rates last changed October 30, 2026)
- NIFA, Homebuyer Assistance Program (opens in a new tab), First Home Program (opens in a new tab), Welcome Home (opens in a new tab) and Military Home (opens in a new tab) (checked November 3, 2026)
- NIFA, Programs and Eligibility (opens in a new tab) (price limits effective July 13, 2026) and Income and Purchase Price Limits (opens in a new tab) (effective July 13, 2026)
- NIFA, First Home Program Lender Manual (opens in a new tab) (updated February 2, 2026) and Welcome Home Program Lender Manual (opens in a new tab), via Resources and Documents (opens in a new tab)
- NIFA, Homebuyer Education (opens in a new tab)
- City of Lincoln, Home Ownership Programs (opens in a new tab) (checked November 3, 2026)
- IRS, Instructions for Form 8828, Recapture of Federal Mortgage Subsidy (opens in a new tab)
- HUD, Loans (FHA) (opens in a new tab)
- VA, VA purchase loan (opens in a new tab)
- USDA Rural Development guaranteed loan rules (opens in a new tab), as they apply to buyers in Nebraska
- U.S. Census Bureau, QuickFacts: Nebraska and selected counties (opens in a new tab) (median value of owner-occupied homes, 2020-2024; population estimates July 1, 2025)
- FTC, Government Grant Scams (opens in a new tab)
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a first-time home buyer grant in Nebraska?
Not from NIFA. Its down payment help, the Homebuyer Assistance (HBA) loan, is a second mortgage of up to 5% of the purchase price at 1% interest, with monthly payments over 10 years. It's an ordinary small loan, not a grant and not forgivable. Grantsights didn't find a state-funded homebuyer grant on NIFA's site as of November 3, 2026.
How much is NIFA down payment assistance in 2026?
Up to 5% of the home's purchase price through the HBA loan (for first-time buyers) or the Welcome Home Assistance loan (for first-time and repeat buyers). Both carry a 1% interest rate and a 120-month term, according to NIFA's lender manuals. The first mortgage that comes with them carries a higher rate than a plain NIFA loan.
What are the NIFA income limits for 2026?
NIFA's limits effective July 13, 2026 depend on county and household size. Most counties are $105,700 for 1 to 2 people and $121,555 for 3 or more. Douglas and Sarpy counties are $114,000 and $131,100, and Lancaster County is $107,500 and $123,625. Targeted tracts run higher, up to $159,600 in Douglas County. Welcome Home uses one statewide limit of $182,800.
What is the NIFA purchase price limit?
Effective July 13, 2026, NIFA's price limit for a one-unit home is $398,000 outside target areas and $485,500 inside them. Welcome Home uses $485,500 for one unit statewide.
What credit score do I need for a NIFA loan?
NIFA lists a 640 minimum credit score for conventional and government loans, with a maximum debt-to-income ratio of 45%, or 50% with a score of 660 or higher. NIFA says borrowers without a credit score may still qualify, and manual underwriting rules vary by loan type.
Will I owe recapture tax on a NIFA First Home loan?
Possibly, but NIFA will pay it back. The First Home lender manual says recapture tax can apply if you sell within 9 years at a gain and your income has risen above IRS limits. NIFA's reimbursement policy covers the actual recapture tax for First Home loans closed on or after June 1, 2004.
Does Omaha or Lincoln have its own down payment program?
Lincoln does, through NeighborWorks Lincoln, for buyers under 80% of median income purchasing inside city limits; the amount varies by price and income. Grantsights didn't find a current City of Omaha down payment program on the city's website as of November 3, 2026.
Are Nebraska home buyer grant ads real?
Be cautious. The FTC says no government agency will contact you demanding a fee for a grant. NIFA loans only come through NIFA participating lenders, and NIFA's real assistance is a loan you repay monthly, so any ad promising free state money should raise questions.
Last updated November 3, 2026. Published by Grantsights from public sources. See our editorial policy, how we build and check guides, corrections and how we make money.
Related Guides
Alabama First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
AHFA lends up to $10,000 (4% of price) as a 10-year second mortgage repaid monthly. 2026 income and price limits, a small closing grant and city help.
Alaska First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
AHFC's 2026 first-time loans start at 6.5%, with 3% down and rate cuts up to 1% for lower incomes and veterans. Limits by borough and partner help.
Arizona First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
Arizona's HOME Plus gives up to 4% as a loan forgiven after 5 years, not a grant. 2026 income caps, Maricopa and Pima options, Phoenix and Tucson help.
Arkansas First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
ADFA's down payment help is a repayable 10-year loan of up to $15,000, not a grant. 2026 county income limits, plus Little Rock and Jonesboro programs.
California First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
CalHFA's MyHome covers up to 3.5% of the price and Dream For All up to $150,000. 2026 county income limits, LA and San Diego help, and what you repay.
Colorado First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
CHFA's 2026 help: a 3% grant you don't repay, a 4% deferred loan, $25,000 for first-generation buyers, plus metroDPA, Boulder H2O and county limits.