North Carolina First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
Quick Answer: North Carolina's statewide help comes from the NC Housing Finance Agency (NCHFA).
Full answer and how we checked it
First-time buyers and military veterans can get $15,000 through the NC 1st Home Advantage Down Payment, and first-time or move-up buyers can get up to 3% of the loan amount with the NC Home Advantage Mortgage. Both are 0% deferred second mortgages forgiven 20% a year in years 11 through 15, so they're loans that become grants only if you stay 15 years. The biggest city programs are Durham's up to $80,000, Raleigh's up to $45,000 or $60,000 and Charlotte's HouseCharlotte, up to $30,000 plus a match, all checked November 3, 2026. To compare North Carolina with the rest of the country, read our national first-time home buyer grants guide.
This guide is for: first-time and move-up buyers in North Carolina who want to know what NCHFA and the biggest cities offer in 2026, how much, and what happens to the money when they sell.
Data note: Grantsights checked NCHFA's NC Home Advantage Mortgage page (opens in a new tab), NC 1st Home Advantage Down Payment page (opens in a new tab), income limits lookup (opens in a new tab) and Community Home Buying Programs page, plus its 2026 CPLP and SHLP limits (income effective June 1, 2026), against the City of Raleigh (opens in a new tab), City of Durham (opens in a new tab) and City of Charlotte (opens in a new tab) homebuyer pages, IRS Form 8828 instructions and U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts on November 3, 2026. NCHFA publishes on nchfa.com, its official domain.
In this guide (10 sections)
- North Carolina Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)
- NCHFA Income and Sales Price Limits by County (2026)
- How Far $15,000 Goes in North Carolina's Biggest Counties
- Local Help in Charlotte, Raleigh, Durham, Greensboro and Winston-Salem
- FHA, VA and USDA Loans in North Carolina
- What NCHFA Doesn't Tell You on Its Home Buyer Pages
- Common Mistakes and Red Flags for North Carolina Buyers
- How to Apply for NCHFA Help, Step by Step
- When NCHFA or City Money Runs Out, or You're Denied
- Sources
North Carolina Home Buyer Programs Compared (2026)
North Carolina buyers have 3 NCHFA down payment products and 3 big-city programs in this guide. Every one is a loan on paper. Three are forgiven if you meet the occupancy terms, Raleigh's is repaid when you sell, and 2 don't state their terms on the agency's page.
| North Carolina program | Run by | Type | Amount | Repayment terms | First-time buyer rule | Credit minimum | Funding status (as stated by agency) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NC Home Advantage Mortgage with DPA | NCHFA | Forgivable loan, 0% | Up to 3% of the loan amount | Forgiven 20% a year at the end of years 11-15; repay the unforgiven part if you sell, refinance or transfer before year 15 | None (first-time and move-up) | 640 (660 manufactured) | NCHFA doesn't post a funding status; ask a participating lender |
| NC 1st Home Advantage Down Payment | NCHFA | Forgivable loan, 0% | $15,000 | Same 11-15 year forgiveness | No principal residence owned in 3 years, or a military veteran | 640 | Not posted |
| Community Partners Loan Pool (CPLP) | NCHFA with local partners | Subordinate loan, 0% | Up to 25% of price or $50,000, whichever is less | NCHFA's page doesn't state repayment terms | Under 80% of county median income | Not published | Through participating CPLP members; funding not stated |
| HouseCharlotte | City of Charlotte (run by DreamKey Partners) | Forgivable loan | $30,000 base plus up to $50,000 match (under 80% of median) | 30-year term, forgivable at year 31 | First-time buyers | Not published | Listed as available; funding not stated |
| Raleigh Homebuyer Assistance | City of Raleigh | Deferred loan, 0% | Up to $45,000 ($60,000 Enhanced) | Due when you sell or stop living there | First-time buyers under 80% of median | Not published | Page updated September 4, 2026; funding not stated |
| Durham Down Payment Assistance | City of Durham | Loan | Up to $80,000 | City page doesn't state terms | No home owned in 3 years | Not published | First-come, first-served "until the $3.2 million in funding is depleted" |
Sources: NCHFA product pages, income limits lookup and CPLP/SHLP limits; City of Charlotte Homeownership page; City of Raleigh Apply for Homebuyer Assistance page; City of Durham Down Payment Assistance Program page. All checked November 3, 2026.
The honest read: NCHFA's help is generous for buyers who stay put. If you sell in year 12, you'd repay 80% of the original $15,000; sell in year 9 and you'd repay all of it.
Get grant deadline alerts by email
About once a week, we email a short list of open grant calls with real deadlines from different funders. It isn't limited to the programs in this guide.
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
NCHFA Income and Sales Price Limits by County (2026)
NCHFA runs 2 separate income tests that confuse a lot of buyers. The 3% NC Home Advantage option counts only the borrowers' qualifying income, while the $15,000 NC 1st Home Advantage counts total family income, including a spouse who isn't on the loan. Grantsights pulled each county from NCHFA's lookup on November 3, 2026; the lookup doesn't show an effective date.
| County (most populous first) | NC Home Advantage (3% DPA) borrower income limit | NC 1st Home Advantage ($15,000) family income, 1-2 people | NC 1st Home Advantage, 3+ people | CPLP 80% income limit, 4 people | CPLP price limit, existing home |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wake (Raleigh) | $158,000 | $132,000 | $152,000 | $105,850 | $390,000 |
| Mecklenburg (Charlotte) | $158,000 | $117,000 | $135,000 | $93,900 | $371,000 |
| Guilford (Greensboro) | $158,000 | $110,000 | $126,000 | $73,200 | $266,000 |
| Forsyth (Winston-Salem) | $158,000 | $103,000 | $118,000 | $76,250 | $268,000 |
| Durham | $158,000 | $129,000 | $149,000 | $101,700 | $380,000 |
| Cumberland (Fayetteville) | $158,000 | $117,000 | $137,000 | $65,500 | $247,000 |
| Buncombe (Asheville) | $158,000 | $103,000 | $118,000 | $81,900 | $409,000 |
| Union | $158,000 | $117,000 | $135,000 | $93,900 | $370,000 |
| Johnston | $158,000 | $132,000 | $152,000 | $105,850 | $359,000 |
| New Hanover (Wilmington) | $158,000 | $109,000 | $125,000 | $87,350 | $356,000 |
Sources: NCHFA income limits lookup (opens in a new tab) (checked November 3, 2026). NC 1st Home Advantage has a $525,000 sales price and loan limit; NC Home Advantage has no sales price limit. CPLP limits are from NCHFA's "2026 HOME Program Household income (effective 6/1/26) and 2025 Sales Price Limits (effective 12/1/25)." County order uses Census Bureau July 1, 2025 population estimates.
The 3% option's $158,000 limit is high enough that most two-income households qualify. The tighter limits are on the $15,000 product, where a family of 3 in Forsyth or Buncombe can't earn more than $118,000.
How Far $15,000 Goes in North Carolina's Biggest Counties
Compared with Census Bureau QuickFacts median home values (2020-2024 ACS), Grantsights analysis finds the $15,000 NC 1st Home Advantage covers 5.2% of North Carolina's $288,900 median value, which pays a full 3.5% FHA down payment and leaves $4,888 for closing costs. Only Wake County's median home needs more.
| County | Median value of owner-occupied homes | $15,000 as share of median | 3.5% FHA down payment | Left for closing costs (or short) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| North Carolina (statewide) | $288,900 | 5.2% | $10,112 | $4,888 left |
| Wake | $461,300 | 3.3% | $16,146 | $1,146 short |
| Mecklenburg | $406,800 | 3.7% | $14,238 | $762 left |
| Guilford | $259,900 | 5.8% | $9,097 | $5,903 left |
| Forsyth | $250,400 | 6.0% | $8,764 | $6,236 left |
| Durham | $389,400 | 3.9% | $13,629 | $1,371 left |
| Cumberland | $199,200 | 7.5% | $6,972 | $8,028 left |
| Buncombe | $391,800 | 3.8% | $13,713 | $1,287 left |
Calculation: $15,000 divided by county median value; FHA minimum down payment of 3.5% from HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab). North Carolina county medians are 2020-2024 ACS figures published in Census Bureau QuickFacts.
Compared with neighboring states, that's unusually strong: in Greensboro, Winston-Salem and Fayetteville, the $15,000 covers the down payment and most typical closing costs. For a move-up buyer using the 3% option instead, a $300,000 home with a $289,500 FHA loan would get about $8,685, which falls short of the $10,500 down payment.
Local Help in Charlotte, Raleigh, Durham, Greensboro and Winston-Salem
North Carolina's 3 biggest local programs are among the largest in the South, and all three require income at or near 80% of area median.
Charlotte: HouseCharlotte, up to $30,000 plus a match
The City of Charlotte's Homeownership page (opens in a new tab) says HouseCharlotte offers deferred and forgivable loans to first-time buyers, up to $80,000 in total. The program table breaks it down:
- Program 1A (at or below 80% of median, listed as $93,900): up to $30,000 base plus an additional match of up to $50,000, 30-year term, forgivable at year 31.
- Program 1B (80.01% to 110%, listed as $129,150): up to $10,000 base plus a match of up to $20,000. City of Charlotte, Mecklenburg County and CMS employees get up to $30,000 with no match required.
- Maximum sales price: $365,000 for new and existing homes in all city neighborhood profile areas.
DreamKey Partners handles applications (704-705-3999). The page doesn't say where the "match" money comes from, so ask DreamKey how it's calculated before assuming you'll get it.
Raleigh: up to $45,000 or $60,000, due on sale
The City of Raleigh's homebuyer assistance page (opens in a new tab), updated September 4, 2026, offers 0% deferred loans with no payments until the home is sold or stops being your primary residence. The traditional program gives up to $45,000 anywhere in city limits; the Enhanced program gives up to $60,000 in targeted areas, with a $450,000 price cap and a 10-year deed restriction limiting your sale proceeds. Income limits at 80% of median are $74,100 for 1 person, $84,700 for 2, $95,300 for 3 and $105,850 for 4. You take a homeownership class through DHIC and apply through an approved lender.
Durham: up to $80,000, first come, first served
The City of Durham's Down Payment Assistance page (opens in a new tab) offers up to $80,000 through approved lenders for buyers at or below 80% of median who haven't owned a home in 3 years. FY2026 limits are $71,200 for 1 person, $81,400 for 2, $91,550 for 3 and $101,700 for 4. The city says loans are made first-come, first-served "until the $3.2 million in funding is depleted," and lists its approved lenders as of July 6, 2026. That pot covers 40 buyers at the full $80,000, so apply early in the cycle.
Greensboro and Winston-Salem
Grantsights didn't verify a current city down payment program in Greensboro or Winston-Salem for this guide. The good news is that buyers there get the most out of NCHFA alone, since the $15,000 covers the FHA down payment on a median home in both Guilford and Forsyth counties with about $6,000 to spare.
FHA, VA and USDA Loans in North Carolina
NCHFA's down payment help rides on 4 eligible loan types: FHA, VA, USDA and conventional, all 30-year fixed through a participating lender.
- For FHA borrowers, HUD's loans page (opens in a new tab) sets the down payment floor at 3.5%, which the $15,000 product covers in most counties.
- For veterans, the VA purchase loan page (opens in a new tab) says no down payment is needed if the price isn't above the appraised value, so NCHFA help can go to closing costs. Veterans also qualify for the $15,000 product even if they've owned before.
- For rural buyers, USDA guaranteed loans need no down payment on eligible addresses, and NCHFA's CPLP can also pair with a USDA Section 502 Direct loan. Our USDA housing grants guide explains the direct loan.
The national first-time home buyer guide compares these loan types side by side.
What NCHFA Doesn't Tell You on Its Home Buyer Pages
Grantsights compared NCHFA's product pages, flyer and limits lookup and found 5 gaps worth raising with your lender.
- The limits lookup has no effective date. The county figures above came from NCHFA's lookup on November 3, 2026, but the page doesn't say when they took effect or when they'll change. Ask the lender to confirm the limit on the day you reserve funds.
- The tax credit is in limbo. The NC Home Advantage flyer linked from NCHFA's resources page (created in November 2023) mentions an NC Home Advantage Tax Credit worth "up to $2,000 a year," but NCHFA's current product pages don't list it and the old tax credit page returns "not found."
- Nothing is forgiven in the first 10 years. Forgiveness starts at the end of year 11. A buyer who sells after 10 years, but before the end of year 11, repays the full $15,000.
- Two definitions of income. The 3% option uses only the borrowers' income, while the $15,000 product counts every titleholder plus a spouse. A married buyer applying alone can fit one and fail the other.
- CPLP's repayment terms aren't on the page. NCHFA calls CPLP a "zero interest, subordinate loan" of up to $50,000 but doesn't say whether it's forgiven or repaid. Get the terms in writing from the CPLP member.
Bond-financed mortgages can also carry a federal recapture tax if you sell within 9 years. According to IRS Form 8828 instructions (opens in a new tab), the tax can't exceed 50% of the gain and depends on your income in the year of sale. NCHFA's pages don't say which of its loans are bond-financed, so ask.
Common Mistakes and Red Flags for North Carolina Buyers
Most North Carolina problems come down to 4 decisions, all made before closing.
- Picking the 3% option by default. A common mistake is taking the 3% product when you qualify for the $15,000 one. On a $250,000 home with a $241,250 FHA loan, 3% is about $7,238; the first-time product pays roughly twice that.
- Assuming the Raleigh price cap is clear. The city's page lists $389,500 in one place and $384,750 in another for the traditional program. Stay under the lower figure or get written confirmation.
- Underestimating Wake County costs. The median Wake home needs $16,146 for an FHA down payment, more than the $15,000 covers, before any closing costs.
- Paying for "grant help." A red flag is any person or website charging a fee to get you a North Carolina home buyer grant. The FTC's government grant scams page (opens in a new tab) says real agencies won't ask for up-front fees or contact you out of the blue. NCHFA help only comes through participating lenders.
How to Apply for NCHFA Help, Step by Step
An NCHFA purchase runs in 6 steps, and stacking a city program adds time, so start the city application as early as the lender allows.
- Check your limits. Look up your county on NCHFA's page and decide which income definition applies to you.
- Confirm your score. You need 640, or 660 for a manufactured home.
- Find a participating lender. Use NCHFA's lender finder or call 1-800-393-0988. The lender applies for NCHFA help for you.
- Take the required education. City programs require it (DHIC in Raleigh), and CPLP requires 6 hours of education plus 2 hours of one-on-one counseling.
- Make an offer under every cap. That's $525,000 for the $15,000 product, $365,000 for HouseCharlotte and the city limits in Raleigh and Durham.
- Close and calendar year 11. Note the date your forgiveness starts.
For example, a family of 3 in Raleigh earning $90,000 and buying a $350,000 home with an FHA-backed NC Home Advantage Mortgage would need a $12,250 down payment. They're under the city's $95,300 limit and NCHFA's $152,000 Wake County limit for the $15,000 product. NCHFA's $15,000 covers the down payment with $2,750 left for closing costs, and the City of Raleigh could add up to $45,000 as a 0% deferred loan to reduce the amount they borrow. If they stay 15 years, the NCHFA money is fully forgiven; specifically, the city's loan of up to $45,000 is still due when they sell.
A single buyer in Fayetteville has an easier path. On a $200,000 home, her $7,000 FHA down payment is fully covered by the $15,000 product with $8,000 to spare for closing costs, and she doesn't need a city program at all. In lower-cost counties, the $15,000 product is often the best route by itself.
When NCHFA or City Money Runs Out, or You're Denied
Durham is the 1 program in this guide with a published dollar cap on total funding ($3.2 million). NCHFA and Charlotte don't post funding status, so a participating lender is the place to ask.
- If Durham's money runs out: NCHFA's $15,000 still works inside Durham, and the Durham County limit for it is $129,000 for 1 to 2 people.
- If you're over the $15,000 product's limit: the 3% option allows borrower income up to $158,000 and has no price cap.
- If your income is under 80% of median: ask a CPLP member about up to $50,000. Our HUD income limits guide explains what 80% of median means.
- If you're denied for credit: a HUD-approved counselor can help, and our guide on how to apply for grants as an individual explains how to avoid paid "grant" offers.
- If buying has to wait: see our rental assistance programs guide, and after you buy, the home repair grants guide.
North Carolina's CPLP limits are HUD HOME limits, and the HUD HOME program guide explains the federal money behind many local programs.
If you'd like a quick check of which official programs fit your household, the free eligibility checker points you to official routes. It's a pointer to the right office, not a source of grant money or an application service.
Buying in the Charlotte metro across the state line, or near Tennessee? Compare the South Carolina and Tennessee guides.
Sources
- NCHFA, NC Home Advantage Mortgage (opens in a new tab) (checked November 3, 2026)
- NCHFA, NC 1st Home Advantage Down Payment (opens in a new tab)
- NCHFA, Income Limits lookup (opens in a new tab) (county figures checked November 3, 2026)
- NCHFA, Community Home Buying Programs (opens in a new tab) and 2026 CPLP and SHLP income and sales price limits (opens in a new tab) (income effective June 1, 2026; sales prices effective December 1, 2025)
- NCHFA, Home Buyer Mortgage Products (opens in a new tab) and NC Home Advantage flyer (opens in a new tab)
- City of Charlotte, Homeownership (HouseCharlotte) (opens in a new tab)
- City of Raleigh, Apply for Homebuyer Assistance (opens in a new tab) (updated September 4, 2026)
- City of Durham, Down Payment Assistance Program (opens in a new tab) (FY2026 income limits; lender list as of July 6, 2026)
- IRS, Instructions for Form 8828 (opens in a new tab)
- HUD, Loans (FHA) (opens in a new tab)
- VA, VA purchase loan (opens in a new tab)
- U.S. Census Bureau, QuickFacts: North Carolina and its largest counties (opens in a new tab) and Cumberland, Johnston, Buncombe, Union and New Hanover counties (opens in a new tab) (median value of owner-occupied homes, 2020-2024; population estimates July 1, 2025)
- FTC, Government Grant Scams (opens in a new tab)
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a first-time home buyer grant in North Carolina?
Not exactly. The NC Housing Finance Agency's $15,000 NC 1st Home Advantage Down Payment is a 0% deferred second mortgage that's forgiven 20% a year at the end of years 11 through 15. If you sell, refinance or transfer the home before year 15, you repay what hasn't been forgiven. Stay 15 years and you never repay it, so it ends up working like a grant for long-term owners.
How much is NC down payment assistance in 2026?
NCHFA offers up to 3% of the loan amount with the NC Home Advantage Mortgage, for first-time and move-up buyers, or $15,000 with the NC 1st Home Advantage Down Payment for first-time buyers and military veterans. Its Community Partners Loan Pool can provide up to 25% of the price, or $50,000, for buyers under 80% of area median income working with a participating partner.
What are the NCHFA income limits for 2026?
NC Home Advantage with 3% assistance showed a $158,000 limit on borrower qualifying income in every county Grantsights checked on November 3, 2026, with no sales price limit. The $15,000 NC 1st Home Advantage uses family income limits by county, for example $132,000 for 1 to 2 people and $152,000 for 3 or more in Wake County, $117,000 and $135,000 in Mecklenburg, and a $525,000 sales price limit.
What credit score do I need for NC Home Advantage?
NCHFA's NC Home Advantage flyer lists a 640 minimum credit score, or 660 if you're buying a manufactured home. The FHA, VA, USDA or conventional loan underneath can add its own requirements.
Who counts as a first-time buyer in North Carolina?
NCHFA defines first-time buyers as people who haven't owned a home as their principal residence in the past 3 years. Military veterans can use the $15,000 NC 1st Home Advantage even if they've owned before. The 3% NC Home Advantage option has no first-time requirement.
Can I combine NCHFA help with Raleigh or Charlotte assistance?
Often, yes. The City of Raleigh says buyers who qualify for its program will likely also qualify for NCHFA programs and that its approved lenders can help layer them. Ask the lender to confirm the combined loan-to-value fits every program's rules before you sign a contract.
Does North Carolina still have a mortgage credit certificate?
Grantsights couldn't confirm one. An NC Home Advantage flyer still linked from NCHFA's resources page mentions the NC Home Advantage Tax Credit, worth up to $2,000 a year, but NCHFA's current home buyer product pages don't list it. Ask a participating lender whether it's available before you count on it.
Last updated November 3, 2026. Published by Grantsights from public sources. See our editorial policy, how we build and check guides, corrections and how we make money.
Related Guides
Alabama First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
AHFA lends up to $10,000 (4% of price) as a 10-year second mortgage repaid monthly. 2026 income and price limits, a small closing grant and city help.
Alaska First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
AHFC's 2026 first-time loans start at 6.5%, with 3% down and rate cuts up to 1% for lower incomes and veterans. Limits by borough and partner help.
Arizona First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
Arizona's HOME Plus gives up to 4% as a loan forgiven after 5 years, not a grant. 2026 income caps, Maricopa and Pima options, Phoenix and Tucson help.
Arkansas First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
ADFA's down payment help is a repayable 10-year loan of up to $15,000, not a grant. 2026 county income limits, plus Little Rock and Jonesboro programs.
California First-Time Home Buyer Programs 2026
CalHFA's MyHome covers up to 3.5% of the price and Dream For All up to $150,000. 2026 county income limits, LA and San Diego help, and what you repay.
Colorado First-Time Home Buyer Grants 2026
CHFA's 2026 help: a 3% grant you don't repay, a 4% deferred loan, $25,000 for first-generation buyers, plus metroDPA, Boulder H2O and county limits.